I Need some Help!

Discussion in 'iOS Development' started by ATC Productions, Sep 9, 2009.

1. ATC Productions

ATC Productions New Member

Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Hello,

I am new to Mac and aplacation creation, I have an app in mind which is in an area which is not full and there is hardly no riviels. All I need to make is a simple app with buttons going to pages with information on them!. I have found a video on YouTube which can be found here (please watch).

I need to know weather if I do the same in that TUT video I will be able to:
    1.Make the app into a fnished file?
    2.Submit it to the App store?
    3.Be abel to sell?
    4.Do itunes take a % of the download cost?
    and
    5.Is it as easy as the TUT shows?

I need to know the answers soon, And I must say please watch the video I linked to so you can see were I am comming from. If you need any more information please ask.

Thanks
    Sam
  2. Axis

Axis Super Moderator Staff Member

Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    Before you try to follow some 11 year old's youtube tutorial verbatim, you should learn how to program. Learn Objective-C, and develop at least a passable knowledge of C.

To answer your questions:

1. I'm not sure exactly what you mean by that, but when after you compile you get a nice little .app bundle with your binary and resources.

2. I didn't actually watch all 11 minutes of the tutorial, but assuming it doesn't blatantly use private APIs or objectionable material, you're good to go. (Note: you need to pay $99 USD per year to submit to the AppStore)

3. See above.

4. Apple takes a 30% cut of the revenue.

5. If you know what you're doing, your task is probably much easier than what the tutorial makes it out to be.

Anyway, I encourage you to put in some time and learn to program. It's a very rewarding experience for me, but it's not everyone's "thing". No reason not to try, though.
  3. ATC Productions

Device:
    3G iPod touch