I need some help with SSH.

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 2.X Jailbreak' started by Ishtastic, Jul 30, 2008.

  1. Ishtastic

    Ishtastic New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    So it would seem that i am unable to ssh into my ipod.
    both terminal and cyberduck give me a timeout error.

    i have tried uninstalling openSSH and reinstalling it through cydia. and restoring it a couple of times. but i am still unable to connect.


    im pretty sure im typing in alpine as the password.
    unless it magically changed and i didn't get the memo.
  2. henryw6

    henryw6 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    1
    Did you type root as the username?
  3. Sweetie.dango

    Sweetie.dango New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    wth... Why do u ask him that question? ......
  4. ricardofelix95

    ricardofelix95 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,702
    Likes Received:
    4
    make sure is SFTP, not FTP, and also port 22, root, alpine and try for three times
  5. Haizum

    Haizum New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0

    I had this happen quite a few times. I went into general settings on my touch and set auto lock to never. For some reason when it locks it doesn't connect. And while it may be a daft idea, make sure wifi is working fine. Ya be suprised. Apart from that it does take a good few goes to get it working.
  6. Gitykins

    Gitykins Banned

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,760
    Likes Received:
    1

    WTF MAH AVATAR!?!?!?!?!


    Make sure you're using SFTP, like ricardofelix said, and that you're on port 22 using the correct IP address and US: root, PW: alpine
  7. pinofromthebay

    pinofromthebay Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Make sure your comp and touch/iphone are on the same network. I would get the timeout error also. I have 2 routers, one wired and wireless. My comp was connected to the wired and the touch obviously was on the wireless hence they were on diff networks. Just had to plug in my comp to my wireless.
  8. mlbplayer456

    mlbplayer456 Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    Messages:
    978
    Likes Received:
    6
    make sure your ipod autolock is set to never and slide to unlock it when sshing cause after 30 seconds of sleep mode it "times out"
  9. BadKarma

    BadKarma Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,037
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Just use iPhone Browser its fast you don't need a pass and you don't need wifi
  10. Ishtastic

    Ishtastic New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I did use root as the username and my iPod is on the same network as my mac. And auto lock is the first thing I disable whenever I restore my iPod.


    Could it be because I had jailbroken my iPod after I had updated it to 2.0?

Share This Page