I just don't get it

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by alucard76, Aug 19, 2008.

  1. alucard76

    alucard76 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Please Help me to connect my ipod touch to my linksys wireless router. No problem with my 2wire at home which is wireless, but my work wireless doesn't work. The ipod sees my network, accepts my password, and even shows a good connection, but I still can't use anything that requires me to be online. Sorry, I'm just annoyed and confused. Any help would be great.
  2. brisingr

    brisingr New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,290
    Likes Received:
    0
    go to the wifi screen, press the blue arrow to enter settings, set it to "static", set ip to:
    192.168.1.237
    and router to
    192.168.1.1
    then go back to "dhcp" option.
    it will most certainly work.
  3. alucard76

    alucard76 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Still Nothing

    I followed your instructions, but still nothing.
  4. brisingr

    brisingr New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,290
    Likes Received:
    0
    try to create a new wifi connection, this time password protected, WPA
  5. alucard76

    alucard76 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Forgot to mention that

    My connection is WPA Personal, password enabled. Also, each time i go and make the change to the IP like you told me, it changes back when i go back to the previous screens
  6. lakers123

    lakers123 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    do you have a firewall behind your router because i had one and it wouldnt let me connect to the ps3 network or use wifi on my ipod. I turned off the firewall and then everything worked
  7. alucard76

    alucard76 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Hmm

    I don't know. It's my own router that I bought just today. How do I check? How do I turn it off if I do? Is it safe? Should I even bother?
    By the way, thanks for your help
  8. lakers123

    lakers123 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    as long as you have a passsword to connect to your network and you have firewalls on your comptuer its safe. to change your router settings go to 192.168.1.1 in your web browser. Since im not sure which router you have your number may be different so check with the instructions that came with the router

Share This Page