I guessed a neighbors wifi pw now what

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by MuZiK I AdDiCt, Aug 26, 2008.

  1. MuZiK I AdDiCt

    MuZiK I AdDiCt New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok so I was up at like 3am and I guessed my neighbors wifi password and it still has that locked symbol and won't let me get on safari... It even says I got a strong signal and I'm connected. Btw I have a 8gb iPod touch NOT jailbroken... Yet.
  2. MANOWAR©

    MANOWAR© Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    If he has his router set up to only allow certain MAC addresses you need to find out one of his, spoof it then get on his router and change the settings or just keep spoofing his MAC address but if you do that and you both get on at the same time it will say so.
  3. MuZiK I AdDiCt

    MuZiK I AdDiCt New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    so in order to spoof it I have to into settings and do what to the wifi settings also it says Netgear as his routers name
  4. MANOWAR©

    MANOWAR© Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)

    Try typing in 192.168.1.1 in your browser and see if the router set up page comes up. Don't do it on your iPod because it's too hard to navigate. If you get in, look for a Filters Tab or MAC address tab. Something like that.
  5. ChikityChinaGuy

    ChikityChinaGuy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    i dont know why, but my ipod connects to any network with any password but will only let me access the internet with the corrct one
  6. simonrichards150

    simonrichards150 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,058
    Likes Received:
    94
    Device:
    iPod touch
    I would say that you havent actually got the right password.
  7. tylobedo

    tylobedo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    794
    Likes Received:
    12
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    yah you don't have the right password sorry to say.

    it should stay with a show a lock signal even with the right password it will just have a check mark.
  8. River

    River New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have to agree with the others. You don't have the correct PW. If you ping or tracert an address it should tell you instantly if you're connected or not.

    Again, odds are - you're not.

    Now, depending on how that Netgear is set up, any attempt to compromise the WEP or whatever he has set, will show up on its log. (If enabled.)

Share This Page