I edited "Minimum VRAM" in Code Resources in CoreGraphics

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by iPwn, Mar 12, 2010.

  1. iPwn

    iPwn Community Development Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    7,336
    Likes Received:
    525
    Device:
    Nexus 4
    In /System/Library/Frameworks/CoreGraphics.framework/Resourcese/Configuration.plist, I edited minimum VRAM to 64 from 16 and changed color depth to 32. will that actually increase allocated graphics memory and color depth or is that unrelated?
  2. iPwn

    iPwn Community Development Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    7,336
    Likes Received:
    525
    Device:
    Nexus 4
    IMO, games did run faster and i had less free RAM, but it may be all in my head. idk...?
  3. .Pandora.

    .Pandora. Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Why would you want to kill your battery faster?
  4. iPwn

    iPwn Community Development Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    7,336
    Likes Received:
    525
    Device:
    Nexus 4
    My battery is fine. I was just trying to see if I could get a few more FPS in games and less lag by editing the amount of RAM I have allocated to graphics processing.
  5. narwal13

    narwal13 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,070
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    5G iPod touch
    are you sure it ran faster?
  6. Magnum

    Magnum New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,264
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wish i had a guinea pig ipod to test this.
  7. iPwn

    iPwn Community Development Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    7,336
    Likes Received:
    525
    Device:
    Nexus 4
    It's hard to tell, but I'm working on a frame rate tool (eerything is already fast since i'm on an ipt3). But if this was done on an ipt2 or 1g, it could be COUNTER productive, since then u have less free ram overall.
  8. SoBe

    SoBe Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,788
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Then what's the point?
  9. CocaCola

    CocaCola New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Messages:
    783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Research for the sake of research?

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    So, do the games actually give more FPS?
  10. iPwn

    iPwn Community Development Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    7,336
    Likes Received:
    525
    Device:
    Nexus 4
    Well, from what I'm seeing, animations in the OpenGl 2.0 game Adrenaline Golf (very graphically intensive)seemed smoother and Springboard animations seemed smoother. When I set it to 0, the game had a slight performance loss (it's only the value for MINIMUM allocated memory), but Springboard animations took a MAJOR hit. i got the lag i saw on a 1g.

    Overall, I guess it does help (on an ipt3), but for 1G/2G devices, an iphone swap file could be used for more overall RAM, and more allocated graphics, and better gameplay.

Share This Page