iOS 3.1 [HOWTO] Jailbreak FW 3.1.1 using blackra1n

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by smoothfreeze, Oct 11, 2009.

  1. smoothfreeze

    smoothfreeze Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    1. Make sure you are on an OFFICIAL Apple stock 3.1, 3.1.1 or 3.1.2 firmware;
    2. Connect your iDevice to your pc using the USB cable;
    3. Go to http://www.blackra1n.com and download the blackra1n application by clicking on the little windows icon below the website;
    3. Make sure you have iTunes open and then start blackra1n.exe on your pc by pressing 'make it ra!n';
    4. It will say 'entering recovery' and the image from www.blackra1n.com will appear on your iDevice. Wait for it to reboot automatically;
    5. Open the blackra1n app on your device and install Cydia OR Icy OR Rock (I prefer cydia);
    7. Congratulations.

    By the way, for iPod touch 3G, the jailbreak is TETHERED. Not full jailbreak. Also the tethered jailbreak only works on iPod touch 3G 32GB and 64GB models. The updated/new 3G/2.5G iPod touch 8GB cannot be jailbroken at this point.

    For iPod touch 3G users (from geohot's twitter):


    WARNING iPhone 3G and 3Gs users! DO NOT upgrade to 3.1 or 3.1.2 unless you want to lose your baseband unlock forever!


    Errors?

    If you are getting 160X errors,try updating your iTunes to the latest version (9.0.1 on mine)

    Good luck.


    Brazilian Portuguese translation by Plat: http://www.ifans.com/forums/showpost.php?p=1896662&postcount=53

    Thanks Plat!

    [updated by studangerous - apologies to the OP for editing his post]
  2. iirwin

    iirwin New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    does not work for me! it does not reboot automatically

    DAMN i made some progress with the reboot prob, when the screen goes black for reboot restore with itunes. then balckra1n should say running and your ipod will have a white screen. then when it tries to verify with apple i get a problem. itunes give me a 1601 error. and blackra1n stays in white screen running mode

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    ???
  3. smoothfreeze

    smoothfreeze Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    What version are you on?
  4. iirwin

    iirwin New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    2g 3.1.2
  5. kid_chris_cool

    kid_chris_cool New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    haz this worked for any one yet?
  6. ocr123

    ocr123 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    it worked for me, but when installing bakgrounder my ipod got stuck.
  7. iirwin

    iirwin New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    i've scoured the other forums. no one has solved the problem per say. it has wokred for some on the 3rd and 5th attempts without itunes. i have no idea why its not wokring
  8. smoothfreeze

    smoothfreeze Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    If you are getting an 160X error,try updating your iTunes to the latest one (iTunes 9.0.1) and then try jailbreaking again.
  9. eLBr0oKeR

    eLBr0oKeR New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
  10. elitenoob

    elitenoob New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    I have exactly the same problem! First, I plug my 8gb 3.1.2 2G itouch into the computer and have it turned on. Afterwards, I let the blackra1n run and I get the picture of geohotz on my screen for thirty seconds, then the screen turns black (which i assume has rebooted). Now I am confused...I then restore the itouch, and I get the white screen, but restore bar loads for a LONG TIME, eventually getting 1601 error

Share This Page