How will we upgrade?

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 3.0' started by cjori, Mar 31, 2009.

  1. cjori

    cjori New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    When the full iPhone OS 3.0 will be released, how will we upgrade our jailbroken iPods?
    I mean, we can just restore to the new 3.0 stock FW, but then all the data is gone.
    Can we Shift+Upgrade firmware to jailbroken 3.0? (say there is a jailbreak already for 3.0) and not to lose all of our data?
    Can we restore and jailbreak to 3.0 then when first connecting to iTunes, there is "Set up a new iPod" Or "Restore from Backup" will we be able to restore from backup?

    I don't want to lose the apps saves and the settings, music and videos and the app itself we can re-sync with iTunes, but the saves and setting.. awrrr what shall we do?
  2. jpga13

    jpga13 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    11,591
    Likes Received:
    435
    Device:
    iPad 3
    Same thing we always do
  3. mark1985

    mark1985 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    how do we normally do? i never updated while on jailbreak since i just have the 2g
  4. jpga13

    jpga13 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    11,591
    Likes Received:
    435
    Device:
    iPad 3
    You can try and restore from backup or use an app to make a backup but when you install new firmware it erases all your info.
  5. Steaps

    Steaps New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    5,074
    Likes Received:
    41
    Device:
    iPod touch
    If you have ever plugged your iPod into your computer, iTunes has the weird little button that says Upgrade. Although, i'm not sure what it does.
  6. jstarisraw

    jstarisraw New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    you download aptbackup from cydia , restore then , download aptbackup again and choose the restore option, all your jb apps will be back

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  7. madcowz

    madcowz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    797
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Yeah and I read somewhere that you NEVER want to do a Shift+Upgrade (not Shift+Restore i know what I mean) cuz you'll lose some memory or something.
  8. eKoKnight

    eKoKnight Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    5
    what do you mean you loose some memory by click shift then restore? I havent seen a decrease on my device....
  9. Tom_L222

    Tom_L222 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    You could SSH all your apps off it, then restore to custom 3.0 then SSH the apps back on.
  10. dancerdudes

    dancerdudes Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    117
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    You could use iFunBox to copy all of /var

Share This Page