How to "Unbrick" Your iPod Touch in case you put iPhone firmware in

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 2.X Jailbreak' started by shadowninja23, Jul 27, 2008.

1. shadowninja23

shadowninja23 New Member

Device:
    iPhone 3G (White)
    Hey, didn't know what I should put in the title, so I just said that. Anyway, I always check the forums here out for help and new things and this is my first time posting, so bear with me. But, I was reading up on how to jailbreak and set up your iPod touch to 2.0 custom firmware and also looked at videos on Youtube also. After many unsuccessful tries on doing this, I finally was making some progress. However....while using Winpwn 2.0.0.3 and pwning the 1.1.4 firmware, I was actually doing it to a iPhone 1.1.4 firmware that I had downloaded by accident, even though it said it was an iPod touch firmware. By doing this and trying to upload it to the iTouch, the firmware "bricked" it and I couldn't do anything on it, except to put it into DFU mode and have it show up in iTunes for a second before disappearing again.

But, after calming down and trying to figure it out on my own without taking it to a Apple store, I managed to restore my "bricked" iPod, even though it had the 1.1.4 iPhone firmware in it and made it completely unusable. So here's what I did, and if there's any people that had the same problem that I had, I hope this helps you.

1. Basically, I took the iPod, connected it to my computer and put it into DFU mode (if you don't know how, you can search here on the forums. But, I'll tell ya how anyway: hold the sleep/wake button and the home button together for about 6-7 seconds. Then release the sleep/wake button but keep holding down the home button until your iTunes program automatically recognizes that it's in DFU mode). If you connect the iPod without putting it to DFU mode, it'll show nothing more than a completely black screen and the computer won't recognize it at all.