[HOW TO] Stay connected on 1.1.3(4) FW in Ad-Hoc mode

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by neon33, Mar 27, 2008.

  1. neon33

    neon33 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi there.
    So if you have problem with Ad-Hoc connection on 1.1.3 and 1.1.4 (you lost connection after 2-3 seconds after you press home button) read this

    Please Register or Log in to view images


    I don't know if is this already here. If is, sorry, I am blind

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    Try it, works for me:

    1. download from \Library\Preferences\SystemConfiguration\ file com.apple.wifi.plist

    2. make backup for this file

    3. open it and edit (I used XMLeditor, so I don't know if it will work with textEditor)
    LINK for XmlEditor

    4. original file (after reseting network settings) looks like this:
    Code:
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
    <!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
    <plist version="1.0">
    <dict>
    	<key>AllowEnable</key>
    	<integer>1</integer>
    	<key>JoinMode</key>
    	<string>Automatic</string>
    	<key>List of known networks</key>
    	<array/>
    </dict>
    </plist>
    
    5. under "List of known networks" replace line <array/> with these 6 lines:
    Code:
    	<array>
    		<dict>
    			<key>SSID_STR</key>
    			<string>***********************</string>
    		</dict>
    	</array>
    
    6. now the file "com.apple.wifi.plist" should look exactly like this:
    Code:
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
    <!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
    <plist version="1.0">
    <dict>
    	<key>AllowEnable</key>
    	<integer>0</integer>
    	<key>Custom network settings</key>
    	<dict/>
    	<key>JoinMode</key>
    	<string>Automatic</string>
    	<key>List of known networks</key>
    	<array>
    		<dict>
    			<key>SSID_STR</key>
    			<string>***********************</string>
    		</dict>
    	</array>
    </dict>
    </plist>
    
    instead of *********************** you must write name of your connection (SSID) - EXACTLY how it is so respect small letters, big letters,blank spaces and other symbols !!!!

    7. close, save it and copy (rewrite) back to \Library\Preferences\SystemConfiguration\

    So, finally, here is example for that file, how it should look like:
    Code:
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
    <!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
    <plist version="1.0">
    <dict>
    	<key>AllowEnable</key>
    	<integer>0</integer>
    	<key>Custom network settings</key>
    	<dict/>
    	<key>JoinMode</key>
    	<string>Automatic</string>
    	<key>List of known networks</key>
    	<array>
    		<dict>
    			<key>SSID_STR</key>
    			<string>NameOfYourNetwork</string>
    		</dict>
    	</array>
    </dict>
    </plist>
    
    And if you want add more than 1 network it looks like this:
    Code:
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
    <!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
    <plist version="1.0">
    <dict>
    	<key>AllowEnable</key>
    	<integer>0</integer>
    	<key>Custom network settings</key>
    	<dict/>
    	<key>JoinMode</key>
    	<string>Automatic</string>
    	<key>List of known networks</key>
    	<array>
    		<dict>
    			<key>SSID_STR</key>
    			<string>NameOfYourNetwork_01</string>
    		</dict>
    		<dict>
    			<key>SSID_STR</key>
    			<string>NameOfYourNetwork_02</string>
    		</dict>
    		<dict>
    			<key>SSID_STR</key>
    			<string>NameOfYourNetwork_03</string>
    		</dict>
    	</array>
    </dict>
    </plist>
    
    It should work on iPhone too, but i haven't iPhone, so it isn't confirmed.
    Hope this will help you.

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  2. a33a

    a33a New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    14
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    This is good.
    Don't have Ad-Hoc.
    But this should be stickied anyway for its usefulness
  3. neon33

    neon33 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. poi04

    poi04 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for that.
    Really works, now i can ad-hoc with my Ipod Touch 1.1.4 jailbreak~
  5. themoose104

    themoose104 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    This really works!!! I spent the better half of 3 hours trying to figure out why I was disconnecting from my ad-hoc. Thank god I found this. The only thing now is when first connecting it says unable to join server even though it really joins it. Oh well it's better than having to press cancel and having it disconnect asap. Good job + rep
  6. Staxit

    Staxit New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Finally my wifi working properly on 1.1.4 ... thanks for this !!!

Share This Page