How to SSH into my Touch?

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by ruffriders23, Aug 14, 2008.

  1. ruffriders23

    ruffriders23 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok... I am using Filezilla and trying to SSH into my Touch so I can dd NES games and stuff. When I try and SSH into it, it says:

    Command: open "root@192.168.0.3" 22
    Error: Server unexpectedly closed network connection
    Error: Could not connect to server

    username: root
    Password: alpine
    Port: 22
    IP ADDY: That is the addy that is on my WIFI screen on the touch.

    I've got the Netservices icon on the screen and when I go into the settings, it is set to SSH as on. Bossprefs also has the SSH function and when I click it to no and exit out I get the same error. I've used other SSH applications and I can't get into the touch at all.

    What am I doing wrong?
  2. sucram6791

    sucram6791 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,121
    Likes Received:
    4
    make sure u have ssh on, use bossprefs
  3. ruffriders23

    ruffriders23 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    I do... it is off when I go into Bossprefs, I click it to on, click the touch button to exit back to the desktop, SSH and get the same message. Every time I go into Bossprefs, the SSH is off.
  4. gtrplyr

    gtrplyr Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)


    i know this prolly sounds like common sense but do u have openssh installed?



    i restored a couple times and forgot i had to reinstall it and i was so confused as to why winscp wouldnt work

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  5. ruffriders23

    ruffriders23 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have openssh 4.6 version 4.6p 1-1 from sosiphone-systeme, If there is another one that is better, can someone post the source so I can add it?
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    I deleted all the sources and reinstalled them and I am still getting this problem. EVERY single time I go into Boss Prefs the SSH is off, so I turn it on and push the home button to exit, go back in, and it is off again. Why won't SSH stay open?
  6. ruffriders23

    ruffriders23 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Problem solved. Upgraded installer to Cyndia and installed OpenSSH and Jiggy Runtime in there and BOOM, fixed!
  7. ricardofelix95

    ricardofelix95 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,702
    Likes Received:
    4
    Congrats!
  8. cs475x

    cs475x New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (White)
    also... if anyone still have issues and is using filezilla, make sure that when your adding a new host, that the drop down box for 'Servertype' is set to 'SFTP - SSH File Transfer Protocol'


    just a little hint...
  9. ruffriders23

    ruffriders23 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    WHERE WERE YOU A WEEK AGO? Now that I fix the problem I've got people dropping tips and hints on me????

Share This Page