[HOW TO] Spoof MAC address on OS 3.0

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by LeanPocketTouch, Aug 25, 2009.

  1. LeanPocketTouch

    LeanPocketTouch Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    After upgrading to 3.0 the application I used to to use to spoof my iPod's MAC address in order to get into the router when my dad would block me didn't work anymore. I been tinkering around and looking for any way to change it and found out how to do it manually with Mobile Terminal. Here's how to do it;

    Step 1) Open Mobile Terminal and type "su root"
    password is "alpine"

    Step 2) Type "ifconfig en0 lladdr <XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX>"
    replacing the Xs with your desired MAC address

    To see your current MAC address type "ifconfig" It be next to "Ether".


    Here's a screenshot;

    Please Register or Log in to view images




    *The default MAC address originally assigned to your device will be reapplied after rebooting
  2. LssThanThree

    LssThanThree Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,943
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    Thanks!
    This could come in handy some time

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  3. Mgssidley

    Mgssidley Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ohhh nice find =]
  4. LeanPocketTouch

    LeanPocketTouch Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Yea I been trying to figure it out since I upgraded lol. I been finding a lot of things lately.
  5. Tmano07

    Tmano07 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    I've tried this and it doesn't seem to be working for me. I run the "ifconfig en0 lladdr <XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX>" command and it simply goes to a new command line, however when I run ifconfig again it still states my original MAC address.

    Any ideas?
  6. LeanPocketTouch

    LeanPocketTouch Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    It shouldn't do that. Make sure your are in root. Type "su root" password is "alpine". You should notice that your wifi will shut off for 3-5 seconds after you enter the command.

    Replace the Xs with a new MAC address and remove the "<>". It should look like this:

    ifconfig en0 lladdr 00:0a:95:b0:05:92
  7. Tmano07

    Tmano07 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Yes I am in root beforehand. Also, I usually just keep my wifi off unless I need to use it. Does it have to be on before running the command?
  8. LeanPocketTouch

    LeanPocketTouch Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    I don't think it would matter if it's on or not but I usually do It when my wifi is turned on.
  9. Tmano07

    Tmano07 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Hmm, no changes regardless whether or not wifi is on.

    I noticed you all seem to be using ipod touches, while I am using an iphone. Perhaps there's something different that I need to do? This thread is the latest that I could find on google though.
  10. LeanPocketTouch

    LeanPocketTouch Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    I know it works on the 3G but I don't know if it does on the 3GS though

Share This Page