How to reverse BossTool relocated Apps

Discussion in 'iPod touch 1.1.3 Application Compatibility' started by amcan, Jan 28, 2008.

  1. amcan

    amcan New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I want to prepare my Touch for 1.1.3 jailbreak - but I have applications and wallpapers relocated to Media and simlinked using BossTool. I want to relocate all back where it originally was and remove simlink, then uninstall app apps from Installer before I attempt jailbreak.

    The problem is that BossTool doesn't provide for relocation back.

    How to relocate all back manually and remove simlink?

    Should I uninstall all iPhone 1.1.2 Apps and Preps I installed earlier too?
  2. amcan

    amcan New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nobody knows the answer? Can't believe - with so may experienced hackers here someone must know answer....
  3. ali.bigolo

    ali.bigolo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    uninstall all your applications just to be safe cuz this firmware takes up a lot of space on your OS partion and it's safer to have only neccessary stuff there, you don't need to move our application folder back but if you feel you need to then do the following at your own risk;

    back up your application folder

    ssh and type:
    rm -rf /Applications /private/var/Applications (given your copied app folder is in /private/var)

    this will remove the symlink and the copied folder

    then copy your backed up applications folder to root (/)
    this will move your Applications to where they should be but make sure the folder is not bigger than the partion or you'll have problems

    PM if more problems

    Ali
  4. amcan

    amcan New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    how do I ssh?
  5. iBrooke

    iBrooke New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Check out this post on how to OpenSSH into your iPhone.
  6. ali.bigolo

    ali.bigolo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    No problem man. Install OpenSSH on your iTouch and download putty here.

    Open putty.exe (no instalation required) on your PC and enter your ip address where it asks for it (that's under Settings --> Wi-Fi and tap that blue arrow next to your network) and click open.

    it will ask you for user name and password, provide them (root, alpine are defaults) and you are in. Just enter the commands I gave you before.

    Ali
  7. iatealitlebabie

    iatealitlebabie New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    1
    REMEMBER WHEN YOU DO THIS... to make sure you CHMOD your files after you put them back in /Applications .
  8. 1337chaos

    1337chaos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,375
    Likes Received:
    26
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    why does everyone keep saying that? the firmware barely takes up any extra space than any of the old firmwares. Apple just left you less room on the partition. the 1.1.1 and 1.1.2 firmwares each had 300 MB for the OS partition. 1.1.3 leaves you with only 279 MB. the firmware isnt bigger, the partition is just smaller.
  9. mnl831

    mnl831 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    3
    yes!!! white IPOD TOUCH!!! i own one!!!!
  10. amcan

    amcan New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm on Mac (PPC), thus I can't use Windows app. What should I use on my Mac?

Share This Page