[HOW TO] Properly Install LogoMe (Changes Boot Logo Without Restoring)

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by itouchnathan, Oct 18, 2008.

  1. itouchnathan

    itouchnathan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    932
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    NOW IN CYDIA

    OFFICIAL POST


    Ok, since the official original thread did not explain the easy way to do it, I will.


    You will need these Applications/Software to be able to do this:
    Any kind of SCP browser.
    A Terminal of some kind (MobileTerminal should work).
    OpenSSH (through Cydia).
    Curl (through Cydia)
    iPhone/iPod Software Version 2.x.x.


    1. Download LogoMe.deb

    2. Open up your SCP Browser, in my case, WinSCP.

    3. Drop LogoMe.deb into /private/var/root/.

    4. Open up Terminal or MobileTerminal and type in specifically: dpkg -i /var/root/LogoMe.deb

    5. Do not Reboot/Respring, instead; Open up Cydia once again and download gUICache

    Now, once it is downloaded, go back to your springboard and LogoMe should be there

    Please Register or Log in to view images


    Click on it and follow the prompts and such.

    Hope this helps those select few who didn't understand.

    If this stuffs up, and you get stuck on boot logo, or get forced into restore mode, do not restore, simply download Morpheys Quickpwn and select ONLY Change boot logos, and this will fix your problem!
  2. rileyman

    rileyman Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
  3. itouchnathan

    itouchnathan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    932
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    No problems, just here to help

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    Alright, I've done this on my iPhone 3G 16GB and my iPod touch 8GB.

    Both firmware 2.1

    The iPhone has had absolutely NO problems.

    The iPod touch doesn't work as far as I can see.

    ---------

    alright, it just put me into restore mode once I rebooted, trying the Morphey's Quickpwn to see if i can fix it.
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    Does not work for me so far xD
  4. ZhiZhi778

    ZhiZhi778 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    936
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    can you tell us what didn't work with kicking it out of recoverymode?
  5. Mars1993

    Mars1993 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    my home and sleep button didnt work after i had installed it -.-
  6. itouchnathan

    itouchnathan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    932
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Yes, it is now in Cydia though xD
  7. marko

    marko New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,198
    Likes Received:
    13
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    it was the cydia one that screwed me and made me re quickpwn.

    anyone got it working on ipod without losing button capability?
  8. johnkaiba

    johnkaiba New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Did all of this and my power and home buttons stopped working and now im restoring and jailbreaking again so i dont trust this yet... even though it did give me a new Logo YAY!
  9. jdknauer113

    jdknauer113 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    dude i touchnathan i told people that in the original thread yesterday you could at least share some of the credit, check the thread if you dont believe me, page 13
  10. wcdeo1

    wcdeo1 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    so is it now completly working?? without any bugs or what? i dont get it...

Share This Page