[How to] Overclock iPhone and iPod touch

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by LssThanThree, May 15, 2010.

  1. LssThanThree

    LssThanThree Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,943
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    A little guide over at GadgetsDNA promises to overclock the CPU speed of your iPhone and iPod touch. I haven't personally tried it, but if you want to, here are the steps.

    1. Navigate to System/Library/System/System Configuration/PowerManagement.bundle/
    2. You will see a file named “com.apple.SystemPowerProfileDefault.plist”
    3. Instead of editing, you just rename it to “SystemPowerProfileDefaultbak.plist” so the device does not recognize it.
    4. Do a reboot and you overclock your iPhone.

    Increasing the clock speed would degrade the CPU’s lifespan and is therefore not recommended. Do at your own risk. We will not be held responsible for bricking your iPhone or iPod Touch.

    Give it a try and let us know how it works out for you.

    Credit to @TheJakeMoor for the link and source:GadgetsDNA
  2. Mr.Funman

    Mr.Funman Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    any testers?
  3. thedj

    thedj Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    913
    Likes Received:
    8
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    so iphone 3GS is underclocked from 800mhz to 600mhz, so will this make it work at 800 mhz?
  4. Aprosamurai

    Aprosamurai Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,573
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    I would to it, but at the moment I'm not too willing to be the first person to test it, not in this scenario.
  5. bahamutspirit

    bahamutspirit New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,650
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad 2 (Black)
    This just purely disables power saving features such as CPU speed stepping and so on... The maximum CPU clock is still preserved, so you won't actually get to see your device spits out fire and runs circles around a PS3.

    Enabling this will cause the CPU to constantly work at its default clock. With things the way they are now, your iPhone CPU is underclocked when you are not doing too many things, and it is clocked back up when you need more processing power. That way, it's not sipping too much of the battery when you are, say... browsing the web idly or browsing your SpringBoard. Seriously, as long as it's smooth when those tasks are happening, who cares, right? And you actually save about an hour average when you are doing just those tasks.
  6. dunuck

    dunuck Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3,070
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    I am willing to try this
    But does some one knows the terminal command that allows you to see the the cpu frequency, to make sure the cpu was overclocked
  7. richardarkless

    richardarkless Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Install sysinfoplus, it should be free in cydia, that tells you the cpu frequency
  8. Awesome

    Awesome Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    I'll try it and let yall know if it works one sec..
  9. jmwerkus

    jmwerkus Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,030
    Likes Received:
    17
    Device:
    iPhone 5S
    I did it about a week ago, made my 3GS extremely fast, but battery was horrible.
  10. Mr.Funman

    Mr.Funman Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    im rebooting now....
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    a bit hot to touch.

Share This Page