how to not put the pineapple as the boot logo?

Discussion in 'Pwnage and Winpwn Discussions' started by mossme89, Apr 4, 2008.

  1. mossme89

    mossme89 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    7
    I was reading some posts about people bricking their touches (supposedly). And I was wondering: is there a way that when you pwn your iPod, to loave the white apple logo as default? I don't want to get stuck on the pwnapple, and have it look like it was hacked.

    If this was already posted, please give me a link, don't say "search"
  2. DJ Xander

    DJ Xander New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    8
    After you PWN your iPod make a custom IPSW by clicking IPSW Builder, and when the option comes up, deselect the "Custom DevTeam Pictures" checkbox. It'll build the firmware you can restore in iTunes with. It's PWNed, and no PWNapple!
  3. mossme89

    mossme89 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    7
    wait, so how did thrash_648 brick his iPod? I mean, in what step are people bricking their iPod?

    Also, how do I know which bootloader I have? I tried this app, hardware info, but it said unknown. I got my iPod November 17th
  4. Aduumzor

    Aduumzor New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    589
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Must be when restoring with itunes?
    Cause, the only way he could have got those custom logos is after he Pwned it.
    So it must have been either his mistake on his side of the computer or the IPSW Builder created a wrong line of code.. :s
  5. DJ Xander

    DJ Xander New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    8
    In PWNing, it's probably because they are not restoring before PWNing, and then using their iPod. You must restore, then go through the PWNing process for best (and safest) results.

    *̡͌l̡*̡̡ ̴̡ı̴̴̡ ̡̡͡|̲̲̲͡͡͡ ̲▫̲͡ ̲̲̲͡͡π̲̲͡͡ ̲̲͡▫̲̲͡͡ ̲|̡̡̡ ̡ ̴̡ı̴̡̡ *̡͌l̡*
  6. jpga13

    jpga13 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    11,591
    Likes Received:
    435
    Device:
    iPad 3
    Not sure, I went from my jailbroken 1.1.4 to pwnd and the to 2.0 and all the way back down to 1.1.4 custom without any fresh restore so who knows.
  7. mossme89

    mossme89 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    7
    I'm just trying to find out so myself and other people don't get bricked in the future
  8. Aduumzor

    Aduumzor New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    589
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Thats incorrect I believe.
    In the other guys video, he had the Pwnpple which booted over and over.
    You cannot get that Pwnapple until you load custom firmware on that AFTER you pwn it.
  9. DJ Xander

    DJ Xander New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    8
    Good idea, but so far no clear details. Hopefully we find out before too many people end up with expensive paperweights

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    Ok, that was just my guess form what I heard they did, oh well, we'll have to wait and see.
  10. mikesgroove

    mikesgroove New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    919
    Likes Received:
    15
    I pwned my touch when it was already jailbroken. you do have to put it into restore mode first.

Share This Page