How to Install gpSPhone

Discussion in 'Gameboy Advance emulator (gpSPhone)' started by Danls92, Nov 16, 2007.

  1. Danls92

    Danls92 Super Moderator Emeritus Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    5,097
    Likes Received:
    209
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Due to the recent forum issues, I figured that I would help out by remaking the guide to put gpSPhone on your iPod Touch/ iPhone.

    Step 1: Preparation
    1. You must have a jailbroken iPod that you are able to SSH to.
    2. You need to download gba_bios.bin. Please do not ask for this file on the forums, but if you send me a pm, or do a google search, you can obtain it easily.
    3. Go to this website http://zodttd.com/ and download the most recent edition, or get it from Installer.app if it is up.


    Step 2: Installation
    (This is assuming that you get it from the above-mentioned website, not Installer)
    1. Extract the file to your desktop (or other convenient location).
    2. Place the gba_bios.bin file into the file that you just extracted.
    3. Copy the entire folder to /Applications
    4. Once it is copied, go to /Applications/gpSPhone.app and set the permissions for the file gpSphone to 755.
    5. Restart your iPod.

    Step 3: Adding Roms
    NOTE: Again, please do not post links to ROMS on this forum, as the downloading and usage of ROMs for more than one day is illegal if you do not own the game. You can however legally use homebrew roms, which are made by people with the intention of being used freely.
    1. Make a folder titled "ROMs" (without the quotes) in the directory /private/var/root/Media
    2. Make a folder titled "GBA" (again without the quotes) in the directory /private/var/root/Media/ROMs
    3. Place any ROMs that you have in the GBA folder
    4. Exit and re-enter gpSPhone and the ROMs should now be on your iPod!

    I hope that this guide has been helpful. Send me a PM if you notice that anything is wrong with these directions, I have checked them, but I might have made a mistake.

    Also, let me know if you have any problems, or anything that you would like for me to add for this guide.
  2. TheRapture

    TheRapture New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thought this was already done

    O well nice job, should be stickied
  3. Sianspheric

    Sianspheric New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. Steaps

    Steaps New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    5,074
    Likes Received:
    41
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Thanks, i did everything you said, permissions to 755, gba_bios.bin is in the folder (755 too), ROM's installed, but when i open a ROM the Controller and top bar (ROM List and Mute buttons) but the screen just stays black, whats wrong?
  5. Danls92

    Danls92 Super Moderator Emeritus Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    5,097
    Likes Received:
    209
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    1) The bios doesn't need to be set at 775, but I don't think that that would be the problem.

    2) How long are you waiting, for me it usually takes about 20 seconds to start up.

    It might just be a bad rom, have you tried more than one?

    Let me know if you still have trouble.
  6. Steaps

    Steaps New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    5,074
    Likes Received:
    41
    Device:
    iPod touch
    yes, i have tried the 3 i have downloaded.

    EDIT: also yes, i'm waiting until it crashes.
  7. Danls92

    Danls92 Super Moderator Emeritus Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    5,097
    Likes Received:
    209
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    I was thinking, and it might just be a bad BIOS file, check your inbox.
  8. Steaps

    Steaps New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    5,074
    Likes Received:
    41
    Device:
    iPod touch
    alright, i guess that was it, either that or because i didn't change the gba_bios.bin permissons to 755
    thanks.
  9. bretony

    bretony New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    touch copy

    do you know if you can add the bioss file using touch copy? because i dont have an ftp application...i already added the roms, i just dont know where to put the bioss thingy
  10. Danls92

    Danls92 Super Moderator Emeritus Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    5,097
    Likes Received:
    209
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Check your inbox, and next time, search.

Share This Page