How to install applications without using wifi?

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by jansuke, Nov 30, 2008.

1. jansuke

jansuke New Member

Im having a hard time since im new to this stuffs, ive tried searching around the forum and founded out that i can only install applications using cyndia (which uses wifi)

Tried searching for more info and ive seen a thread for "Total Commander" and "Iphonebrowser"... i dont have any clue on how to install applications using these stuffs...

Can someone help me?

i just recently JB my ipodtouch (1st gen 8gig)

PS: i dont have wifi
  2. Jarlath

Jarlath Retired Moderator

If you don't have WiFi, I can only suggest using iTunes and the App Store... unless you can download the files onto your computer for those various programs, then use Total Commander to transfer them via USB onto the iPod and then setting permissions so those programs will run.
  3. jansuke

jansuke New Member

Can you please elaborate those steps further???

I can transfer files on my ipod using Total Commander but what type of files should i put it in and where???

Ah..Moemory 1.0.1.ipa <- should i find files like this in the internet? then put it in the directory where my ipod places its games?

Hmm... can you please give me some links where i can read topics regarding this?
  4. bimple

bimple New Member

Device:
    iPod touch
    you can also use itunnel

1) Plug in your iPod/iPhone and start iTunes
    2) start itunnel
    3) start winscp amd press new
    4) in winscp enter the host name of 127.0.0.1, port 22
    5) in winscp enter the username of root, password alpine
    6) in winscp set the file protocol (sftp) and save
    7) connect to 127.0.0.1 with winscp using the info you saved

here is a link to itunnel without the full suite
    (no need to install)
  5. jansuke

jansuke New Member

Does that make my ipod touch able to surf the web when plugged in computer??? or its just a way to transfer file inside the touch using winscp???