How to fix wifi delayed start 2.2

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 2.X' started by flubby33, Jan 23, 2009.

  1. flubby33

    flubby33 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    Hi all.
    Lately with 2.2 jailbroken i have been experiencing problems with the time it takes for wi-fi to startup once you unlock iPod Touch/iPhone. I was playing around with wifi settings when i finally found out how to fix it.

    When in Settings.app, click Wi-Fi. Then scroll down to your access point name (should have a check next to it) and click the blue arrow next to it. On this screen, there should be 3 options:
    -DHCP
    -BootP
    -Static

    Click the static option to set your ip address to never change. Go back home and lock your device for a few minutes.


    Now when you unlock it, it should actually load up wifi faster than ever before, because now it doesn't have to contact router for new ip every time it tries to connect.

    Hope it works!

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  2. that one guy

    that one guy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    sweet. thanks for the info
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    I only have a 2g but when redsn0w comes out i will totally take this suggestion to heart
  3. amandwato

    amandwato Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPod touch
    wont this decrease battery life?
  4. TomboFry

    TomboFry Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    But what if your IP changes every day (a "dynamic" one - I can't remember what they're called), then this wouldn't work. I have a router and an IP address which changes all the time, I think it's so people can't get to it so easily.
  5. flubby33

    flubby33 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    why? i would think it would be more efficiant because there is no more asking router for new ip.

    There are 2 kinds of ip. first is changed often and can be determined by:

    Settings > Wi-Fi > Your Network w/ check (blue arrow) > Scroll down for ip.

    the other is unique and never changes. u can see it by going to

    www.whatismyip.com

    Everyone has a dynamic ip to start, as everytime u restart wifi router reassigns ip address. this takes time on the part of the iphone/itouch. removing this step allows for faster wifi connection boot.
  6. dzap

    dzap New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Huh..my iPod already did this..it assigned one of my Router's IP addresses as the static IP though. Works for me

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  7. Ruamrudee

    Ruamrudee Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    947
    Likes Received:
    17
    Device:
    iPhone 5S
    thx OP

    will try this at home
  8. flubby33

    flubby33 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    Sure.
  9. Gman4354

    Gman4354 Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    718
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Routers have a DHCP range were you can choose the range of ip's that can be assigned to a device / computer connecting to the router

    So if you had a range of
    10.0.0.1
    to
    10.0.0.50

    then your computer hooked to the router would have the ip 10.0.0.1
    then say you connect to the router with your iPod then that would be assigned 10.0.0.2 and so on.
  10. Xx-pFizZLE-xX

    Xx-pFizZLE-xX Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (White)
    yeah exactly, so if you wanted..you can set your ipods IP to 10.0.0.48, and it will always be connected. Unless you have 48 devices sucking on your router lol

Share This Page