[How to] fix gpsPhone cannot read ROMs

Discussion in 'Gameboy Advance emulator (gpSPhone)' started by Sickly_slick, Mar 18, 2008.

  1. Sickly_slick

    Sickly_slick New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    10
    [How to] fix all gpsPhone problems UPDATED

    UPDATED - can a mod change the title of this topic to [How To] Set up gpSPhone and fix problems

    Hello all, ive read this page several times and i see many people going "ZOMG my gpsPhone cannot see the ROMs i put in it!!!" & "ZOMG my gpsPhone deletes my saved games! NOOOOO"
    Hope this will be a help for all (for FM 1.1.3/4)

    Current Version is 2.0.0
    You can download this from ModMyiFone source or Zod's source

    Required steps before beginning this guide (A&B):

    A) TERMINAL - For this guide, i will be using Terminal whenever you need to type some codes in.

    HOW TO INSTALL TERMINAL AND GET IT WORKING:

    installer -> System -> Termminal
    installer -> Tweaks 1.1.3 -> SUID Lib Fix (works for firmware 1.1.4)
    installer -> Tweaks -> BSD Term Fix
    exit installer, Terminal should work now for 1.1.4

    Terminal Login
    open Termminal
    type in "login" hit enter
    type in "root" hit enter
    type in "alpine" hit enter

    ^do this process before using Terminal
    *EVERYTHING IN THE <CODE> SECTION HAS TO BE TYPED EXACTLY AS IT IS INTO TERMINAL

    B) FILE ACCESS - You can use a SSH client or another program to access the files on your iPod.
    Heres a detailed guide on how to use iPhonePCSuite (an excellent program). Heres the link:
    http://www.ifans.com/forums/showthread.php?t=47552

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    >lets start getting gpsPhone working then.

    1. download gpSPhone (duh), but... version 2.0.0 (from installer using zodttd's source or zodttd's website)
    - zodttd.com/repo (repo)
    - http://www.zodttd.com/viewtopic.php?f=25&t=1109 (app download)
    2. download gba bios (google "gba_bios.bin", you'll know what to do after you click search)
    3. SSH or use an application (iPhonePCSuite) to access your iPod Touch.
    4. place gpSPhone.app in /applications (skip this step if you downloaded the app via Installer)
    5. place gba_bio.bin in /application/gpsPhone
    6. chmod the whole folder to 755 using term-vt100
    Code:
    chmod -R 755/Applications/gpsPhone.app
    7. prepare your GBA ROMS!!!!!!!!
    8. navigate to /var/mobile/Media (create folder Media if it doesnt exist already)
    9. create folder ROMs and place it in /var/mobile/Media
    10. create folder GBA and place it in /var/mobile/Media/ROMs
    11. place .gba games into /var/mobile/Media/ROMs/GBA
    12. chmod the entire folder to 777 using Termminal
    Code:
    chmod -R 777 /var/mobile/Media/ROMs/GBA
    13. You'll be able to play games now. But you cant save =O
    To save states, type this in Terminal
    Code:
    chown -hR mobile /var/mobile/Media/ROMs/GBA
    ^This works with other game problems, like changing /var/mobile/Media/ROMs/GBA to /var/mobile/Media/ROMs/SNES ; etc.
    ---------------------------------------------------------
    keep in mind not all GBA games work on gpsPhone, if you load a game up and it displays a white screen, its either that game is not compatible or the game is corrupted. to test if you've got gpsPhone working 100%, play pokemon fire red because i know that works

    *REMEMBER TO BACKUP SAVED GAMES
    saved games are in the same directory as your gab games /var/mobile/Media/ROMs/GBA
    .svs saved games are saved states through gpSPhone (press home -> overwite/save)
    .sav saved games are saved games through the game (like in pokemon, you press start -> save)
    Drag these files (or one of them if you use only one save) to your computer and keep it as backup. Drag the files back to your iPod whenever you require them.

    free feel to post/pm me about any unclear steps
    1 person likes this.
  2. Sickly_slick

    Sickly_slick New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    10
    B ring
    U p
    M y
    P ost
    1 person likes this.
  3. Necro

    Necro New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    This does NOT work for me.
    I did everyting like you said, but when I want to save it doesnt create a new savegame and when I overwrite, it wont load the new but the old savegame.
  4. Sickly_slick

    Sickly_slick New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    10
    did you use the symlinks to move your entire root folder to the mobile folder? if you did it will not work for you.
  5. Necro

    Necro New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not that I know.
    I installed something calles SUID Library Fix if thats what you mean.
  6. Sickly_slick

    Sickly_slick New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    10
    are you running 1.1.4 or 1.1.3?
    if its 1.1.4 have you ever typed this in terminal:
    cp -R /private/var/root/Media /private/var/mobile/
    rm -r /private/var/root/Media
    ln -s /private/var/mobile/Media /private/var/root/Media
    cp -R /private/var/root/Library /private/var/mobile/
    rm -r /private/var/root/Library
    ln -s /private/var/mobile/Library /private/var/root/Library
  7. Sickly_slick

    Sickly_slick New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    10
    alright i edit my first post so you should be able to save now
    ofcourse i havent had that much time to test it (only like 15 mins of none stop saving)
    it seems to work within that 15 mins timeframe lol, hope it works forever
    oh btw i tested with Pokemon Yellow, like i said, havent had that much time to test my method fully
  8. Necro

    Necro New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok thanks I will try.
    So did I do this symlink thing by installing the SUID patch?
  9. knicksak2

    knicksak2 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have evrythign installed and running but when i go to save it it doesnt save it...how do i get it to save the game??
  10. Sickly_slick

    Sickly_slick New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    10
    nah that just fix your Term-Vt100 so you can use it to chmod
    the password is alpine for term-vt100

Share This Page