How to enable Battery% and Carrier on Mac

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by soong, Oct 2, 2010.

  1. soong

    soong New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPad 2 (Black)
    YOU NEED TWO IPOD TOUCH (one that can be jailbroken, and one 4G) TO DO THIS!

    In my case, I have my iPod Touch 1G and iPod Touch 4G.

    Steps (very similar, but cydia part is required):
    1. Restore your old iPod Touch.

    2. Don't install music, video, apps, etc, because it will just eat time.

    3. Use Spirit Jailbreak because you just have to click on button to jailbreak it.

    4. When your old iPod Touch restarts, you will see cydia.

    5. Enable Wi-Fi, and then open Cydia. Select graphic user when the pop up asks you to choose, and let it update.

    6. Go to search tab in Cydia (once the loading finishes) and type "SBSettings". Install it.

    7. You will have to restart springboard. Do so.

    8. Open SBSettings by swiping the status bar from left to right.

    9. Click on "more" (it's one of those small square icons).

    10. Scroll down and select "More options" (I forgot which one it was. You can navigate to all sections if you want to).

    11. Enable Numeric Battery Percentage.

    12. Download "MakeitMine" and then type your custom carrier name!

    13. Backup your old iPod Touch with your current iTunes.

    14. Restore your NEW iPod Touch.

    15. When you go to the section where you can choose "new iPod" or "restore from Backup", choose your old iPod Touch's backup.

    16. Voila! YOU ARE DONE!!!!
  2. Just_For_Now

    Just_For_Now Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    So... When do I have to use my Mac?
  3. shamrock

    shamrock Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    You don't need to even have two iPods... Just follow the other guy's tutorial on how to edit them manually through the backup.
  4. soong

    soong New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPad 2 (Black)
    Just_For_Now:
    Use at step 13 and 14. It's obvious since you have to backup and restore.
    shamrock:
    uummmm, yeah, I created this because on his thread, it's Windows ONLY.
  5. Esamu

    Esamu New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    You can't edit the backup on a Mac.
  6. ryanangus

    ryanangus Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,609
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is an alternative method, as there are no programs that modify backups on OSX at this point in time.
  7. ChrisL

    ChrisL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8,704
    Likes Received:
    159
    I know Windows users have the ability to edit their backups, but this method works for both Windows and Macs, so you should really label it as just for Mac.

Share This Page