HOW-TO - EASY Downgrade from 1.1.3 with iTunes 7.6 MAC - withOUT iphuc

Discussion in 'iPod touch 1.1.x Jailbreak' started by johnnypuffs, Jan 27, 2008.

  1. johnnypuffs

    johnnypuffs New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I have been trying for 2 hours to figure out how to downgrade from 1.1.3 and keep getting the error. Tried on my other mac as well with iTunes 7.5 and still the error. Can't get iPhuc to work through Parallels. Was getting hopeless.

    Finally found an EASY way that works. I don't remember where I found the method, I copied a bunch of stuff into text edit and this WORKED!!

    First off, lemme just say I'm running 1.1.3 on my iPod with the software update pack and iTunes 7.6 when I did this.

    1. Connect your iPod touch and let it show up in iTunes and finish syncing and make sure you've logged into the home screen.

    2. Hold down POWER and HOME until the iPod disappears from the source list.

    3. When the iPod disappears from the source list, you can let go of the POWER button but, KEEP holding the HOME button until the iPod pops back into the list in recovery mode.

    4. Then you can go about your normal downgrade routine by holding down the OPTION key while clicking the "Restore" button and choose the 1.1.1 firmware. (Edit: for PC Users, hold down the SHIFT key while clicking Restore)

    As I said earlier, no need for iPhuc and this was done using 1.1.3 and iTunes 7.6. I can't believe how hard this information was to find.

    By the way, this is NOT the normal restore way as it was in previous downgrades... that's when you get the unknown errors.

    YEAH!!!!!

    Hope this helps people out. This was driving me INSANE!!

    Can one of the mods sticky this please. I searched FOREVER for this and I'm sure others are in the same boat
  2. Tatsu

    Tatsu New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    I tried this and it didn't work for me. Everytime i try to restore to 1.1.1 it comes up with "the iPod 'iPod' could not be restored. An Uknown error occurred (1)"

    someone already stickied something like this too

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  3. iceman5008

    iceman5008 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (White)
    wow, it actually worked. you have to follow the steps, dont assume ANYTHING just do what is told. my ipod already had the restore screen but when i plugged it in i still pressed and held the restart buttons and let go of the power button when the ipod went off and BOOM!!!! restore
  4. johnnypuffs

    johnnypuffs New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah I was so happy to find that and have it actually work.

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  5. JYogi

    JYogi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Where can we find the 1.1.1 firmware??
    Please tell me where I can DL it.
  6. Willrob

    Willrob New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Yes, this works!!

    Been struggling for two days to downgrade from 1.1.3 to 1.1.1 and now I've been able to. What is unique about these instructions, which I have to admit are extremely like others, is the stress on when to release the power button and the home button. Read those sections carefully: power button released after iPod unmounts in iTunes; continue to hold home key until it remounts and is in restore mode.
  7. mathen

    mathen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad
    I did this when my ipod cRASHED! But all i could see was one option' restore & update to 1.1.3! No option to restore to 1.1.1

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  8. I_am_Mad_like_This

    I_am_Mad_like_This New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    762
    Likes Received:
    3
    quite useful i say
  9. johnlennon

    johnlennon New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    now that's strange. i tried this yesterday 10 times or more, exactly the same procedure. but didn't work, always get the error. now I tried it again.. and it just works

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    thanks a lot anyway

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  10. johnnypuffs

    johnnypuffs New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0

    You need to have the 1.1.1 update file downloaded to your comp. Then shift click (PC) or Option click (MAC) the restore button. This will allow you to choose what file to restore from.. Basic stuff. read some of the stickys

Share This Page