How to downgrade iPod touch 2G from 2.2 to 2.1.1 ?

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 2.X Jailbreak' started by Denisius, Dec 2, 2008.

1. Denisius

Denisius New Member

Hello everybody!

I'm a real newbie, so please be patient!

Please Register or Log in to view images

I have an iPod touch 2G, with 2.2 firmware.
    I would like to downgrade it to 2.1.1 firmware.
    I've found a couple of posts that explain how to do that, but the technique described there involves using an iPod 2.1.1 backup file.
    The problem is, that the first thing I did when i got the iPod, was to upgrade it's firmware to 2.2, so from what I've seen, I do not have such a backup file.

Is there any way for me to downgrade to 2.1.1 or am I stuck with 2.2 ?

Thank you in advance,
    Denis.
  2. dashwood03

dashwood03 New Member

i think you're the first one who wants to downgrade his device from 2.2 to 2.1.1.

i have a question, why you want to downgrade anyway? 2.2 is the latest version.

oh well, try this.

put your ipod to DFU mode. how? click the "[how to]dfu mode" on my signature.

and 2nd, try to find the 2.1.1 firmware. google is your friend.

restore on itunes, "hold shift+restore" to 2.1.1 firmware.

hope it helps.

and uhh, guys at iptf. correct me if my method is wrong. because I don't have a 2G ipod.
  3. jpga13

jpga13 Banned

Device:
    iPad 3
    Well if you aren't sure then why would you give someone advice?
  4. jfb392

jfb392 New Member

Device:
    iPod touch
    It's most likely correct, unless Apple changed everything about DFU mode.
  5. jpga13

jpga13 Banned

Device:
    iPad 3
    Ok, but this is a continual problem with these select few, who I won't name, taking guesses at what the solution is without knowing. I think a better answer might have been to question why the OP wanted to do this and then go from there.
  6. Denisius

Denisius New Member

First of all, thank everybody for their responses (although, I sense some tension there...

)