How to downgrade from 3.1.1 to 2.2.1

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by karaduke, Sep 11, 2009.

  1. karaduke

    karaduke New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    i was on 3.0 firmware and decided to update to 3.1.1 on my ipod touch 2nd gen but when i tried to use redsnow 0.8 it kept getting stuck on the pic of the hard drive (downloading data bit) so couldn`t get cydia back. so what i did is use quick freedom and restore my custom firmware and that got me back to using 3.0 so i can use cydia again. i hope this helps everyone out there who thinks they are stuck on 3.1.1 until a patch is released. hit the thanks button if i have solved your problem and sorry if this is in the wrong section karaduke
  2. Tman47

    Tman47 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,883
    Likes Received:
    20
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    you didnt mention anything about 2.2.1 there... and theres several ways of downgrading
  3. karaduke

    karaduke New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    i thought everyone knew that you cant downgrade from 3.1.1 to 3.0 and thats why i only put 2.2.1 in the header just to clarify when you use quick freedom you will down grade to 2.2.1 once that is on your ipod touch you need to restore with 3.0 firmware and after that use redsnow 0.8 to get cydia back.
  4. che0173

    che0173 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    Does this really work?

    I just bought an 8gb iPod Touch after the reduction in price after selling my 1st gen 16gb and accidentally upgraded mine to 3.1.1.

    I have tried so many times to downgrade and it just doesn't work.

    I just tried your method, and in Quick Freedom, i CAN NEVER get the white screen to appear.

    In fact, I have NEVER seen the white screen before...

    Any help?

    and yes i have tried unplugging for ~10 seconds and replugging.

    please help asap
  5. karaduke

    karaduke New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    I`m not 100% sure cos i can`t remember lol did you make a custom firmware and use it to restore also if you try to change boot logo`s it doesn`t always work.
  6. UberNub

    UberNub New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    You could try and restore to an earlier firmware using Itunes.
  7. yoineedasn112

    yoineedasn112 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    This works!

    I have an ipod touch 2g which was on firmware 3.1.1. I tried this method. It worked like a charm. Thank you for the help. I can't guarantee everyone that it will work but it worked for me.

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  8. AdamB09

    AdamB09 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    I am not a computer person so if you could put this into lamens terms for me.

Share This Page