iOS 4.0 [How To] Downgrade 4.0 to 3.1.2 WITHOUT ERRORS!

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by Eclipse, Jun 29, 2010.

  1. Eclipse

    Eclipse Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    The reason its 3.1.2 is for some reason 3.1.3 is not working for many people. Well I have found a way to do it without any errors or hassle with irecovery, recboot, etc.

    Step 1. Locate 3.1.2 firmware :
    Chances are that while updating you probably have this firmware already downloaded in the software update folder.
    This can folder can be found in the following path :

    On Windows:
    Documents and Settings\<User>\Application Data\Apple Computer\iTunes\iPhone Software Updates

    On Mac:
    ~/Library/iTunes/iPhone Software Updates

    If you do not have the firmware the best advice I can give you is to "google" it as that cannot be discussed here.

    Step 2. Edit your hosts file :
    This is needed as apple no longer signs 3.1.2.
    The hosts file can be found in :
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\etc
    Open this up in notepad and enter :
    74.208.10.249 gs.apple.com
    Add this to the very bottom.
    Now, save it and exit the notepad.


    Step 3.


    WARNING- REMEMBER TO EDIT YOUR HOST FILE AND SAVE BEFORE CONTINUING.

    Put your ipod into dfu mode :
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bITIiGswjFI

    iTunes will recognize it and ask you to restore, this is as planned.


    Step 4.
    Restore to 3.1.2

    Shift-click restore for windows or use the option key for mac and select the 3.1.2 firmware. iTunes will restore it and it will work just like a regular restore.
  2. hippo32

    hippo32 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    just got an error

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    . when i try to save the text after replacing all the text with "74.208.10.249 gs.apple.com " it says access denied; cannot create the ....file; make sure that the path and file name are correct.
    as well there were 2 files named hosts. one being an icalenderfile and another being just a "file". i tried to replace the "file" one.

    ugh .... help is Greatly apreciated. thanks
  3. Eclipse

    Eclipse Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    The file is called "hosts", once you open up with notepad you get something like...

    # Copyright (c) 1993-1999 Microsoft Corp.
    #
    # This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
    #
    # This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
    # entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
    # be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
    # The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
    # space.
    #
    # Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
    # lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
    #
    # For example:
    #
    # 102.54.94.97 rhino.acme.com # source server
    # 38.25.63.10 x.acme.com # x client host

    74.208.10.249 gs.apple.com
    127.0.0.1 localhost
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    Also make sure your running it as admin
    That could probably be why its denying access.

    Also the content may differ if u have windows xp or vista or windows 7
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    I'm sorry but you have been confused, you dont replace all of the text, just add the line to the bottom.
  4. dragonbeast25

    dragonbeast25 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    You cant run that as administrator? You have to use the Open-With opetion.
    I had same problem i fixed it by right clicking propertys and then secuirty and click on your username edit, and allow all then apply, and u can save now. All i did im on windows 7 x64
  5. hippo32

    hippo32 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    NVM I GOT IT ECLIPSE. I was going to pm you but i didnt have enough posts.
    -_-. anyways, i got to the last step. i downloaded a firmware but it said it was not compatible. Can you or anyone please pm me the Dl link for it?
  6. dragonbeast25

    dragonbeast25 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Same problem here. I downloaded 3.1.3 now im downloading 3.1.2 -.-
  7. hippo32

    hippo32 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    lol im doing the opposite. i downloaded 3.1.2, now downloading 3.1.3 . wtfffff
  8. dragonbeast25

    dragonbeast25 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    They both didnt work! WTF YO?
  9. Eclipse

    Eclipse Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    It says 3.1.2, THIS WILL ONLY WORK FOR 3.1.2
  10. hippo32

    hippo32 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0

Share This Page