[How to] change your numeric password to a letter one.

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by SmexyPenguin18, Jun 24, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SmexyPenguin18

    SmexyPenguin18 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,749
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    EDIT:I just figured out if you go to settings.app > general > profile > and hit remove it will take off the thing that eraes your data but will keep the password

    This is a simple guide to change you numeric password on your ipod touch/iphone to one with letters. This can be done on any ipod touch/iphone. It does NOT have to be jailbroken.

    1.)Download the file here

    2.)Attach this file to an email and send it to a email account you have on your ipod/iphone.

    3.)Open the email on in the mail app and click the attachment.

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    4.)It should look like this:

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    5.)Click install. A warning message will come up saying the profile isnt verified etc. Just click install now.

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    6.)It will ask for your current password. Then tell you to enter your new password. Then tell you to confirm it.

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    There you go you now have a letters for your password instead of numbers.

    Please Register or Log in to view images


    Please Register or Log in to view images



    This is my first how to so any feedback is good too. ty

    edit: after you finish this guide go to settings.app > general > profile > remove

    Please Register or Log in to view images


    it will give this warning click remove. This will make it go back to your old settings but keep the password. To get it back to normal go to change your password as normal and when it asks for the new password put in a four digit number and it will be back to normal.
  2. ipNinja

    ipNinja New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,209
    Likes Received:
    5
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (White)
    Thanks buddy, not going to use it but nice one

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  3. tgluak

    tgluak New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Not to put anyone off, but I think this might wipe your iPod if you get it wrong 3 times. Just did it to test, now iPod doesnt get past Apple logo. Can you set it up to lock for a certain amount of time instead?
  4. Conya

    Conya Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    now that youve said that, im not gonna do it, people grab my iphone and punch in random codes already.. :|
  5. andyvancool

    andyvancool New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    So is this safe to use or not?
  6. SmexyPenguin18

    SmexyPenguin18 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,749
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    ill see if i can change that right now
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    fixed it.
  7. tgluak

    tgluak New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Thanks, I tested (first incident) because I am in the same situation as above. People love to punch codes into my iPod and into my iPhone, so I don't want to have it erase.
  8. SmexyPenguin18

    SmexyPenguin18 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,749
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    for the alphabet password you need to have the wipe thing and the max attempts is 18 and that would take atleast 3 hours to wipe
  9. andyvancool

    andyvancool New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    After installing, Erase Data is greyed out and the on button can't be changed. Anyway to edit this and make it changeable myself? If not, could you do it and post an updated version? Thanks

    Please Register or Log in to view images


    ------------------double post merged------------------
    oh ok, fair enough
    thanks again

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  10. SmexyPenguin18

    SmexyPenguin18 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,749
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    read the post above yours
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page