how to change default bitrate for AAC conversion?

Discussion in 'iTunes' started by ssddyakno, Jul 6, 2009.

  1. ssddyakno

    ssddyakno New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Title says it. I was having trouble with the ipod's music player freezing at the start/end of random songs, so I converted my library to .AAC and took all the mp3s off the ipod. Well, it just about doubled the space, because the bitrate went up to like 320 or something that I would consider to be overkill, especially considering my ipod is only 8 gigs, so space is at a bit of a premium.

    I wanna do like 128-192 variable bitrate. Is that possible?

    Any help is greatly appreciated.
  2. ssddyakno

    ssddyakno New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nobody has any advice for me?
  3. lakers123

    lakers123 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    go to itunes preferences then cd import settings and click aac encoder and high quality -128 bitrate and reconvert the songs
  4. ssddyakno

    ssddyakno New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, sounds like it may work, but is this going to work when I'm not using a CD, but simply using mp3 files from the computer?
  5. geekgrrl

    geekgrrl Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    954
    Likes Received:
    13
    Device:
    5G iPod touch
    Yes. great audio.
  6. TheTerminator

    TheTerminator New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Yep, worked for me.

Share This Page