[How To] Battery % and fake carrier name

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Swift, Sep 25, 2010.

?

Follow me?

  1. I'm gonna try this.

    136 vote(s)
    69.0%
  2. Lol pointless.

    61 vote(s)
    31.0%
  1. Swift

    Swift Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    10
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (White)
    It's quite simple.

    [​IMG]

    1) Download and install iBackupBot for iTunes Trial. But don't open it yet.
    Code:
    http://www.icopybot.com/ibackupbot_setup.exe
    2) Next create a backup of your device in iTunes and then CLOSE iTunes (or else you may run into problems later on).
    [​IMG]

    3) Open iBackupBot. See the folders on the left? Click yours, the most recent one. Next click "Path" to sort by Path.

    [​IMG]

    4) Look for Library/Preferences/com.apple.springboard.plist and double click it. On the registration screen that comes up, hit cancel.

    5) Find <dict> and create a new line after it. Then add this:
    Code:
    <key>SBFakeCarrier</key>
    <string>Carrier</string>
    <key>SBShowBatteryLevel</key>
    <true/>
    
    So it should look like this:
    [​IMG]

    6) Hit CTRL + S or just the save button at the top left corner of that editor window. Now close the window.

    7) Right click your folder and click Restore
    [​IMG]

    8) Done! If you don't see the changes, reboot your iPod.
  2. markguitar

    markguitar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    hmmm i tryed that earliar but it didn't work... let me try it again.

    Edit: Finally got it to work! The first time i did it i did a full restore so i think that might have messed it up somehow.
  3. redban

    redban New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    You shot your lock picture with the ipod 4?!?
  4. TchnclFl

    TchnclFl New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    631
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    It does work. You just need to make sure you get the capitalization, etc. exactly right on the Keys.

    Works great :D:

    [​IMG]
  5. Swift

    Swift Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    10
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (White)
    Yep, why? I resized the pic so people don't get overwhelmed.

    Glad you two got it working!
  6. Buzzard267

    Buzzard267 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    729
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    What do you mean? You can take screenshots on an iPod (I know! so amazing! :eek: )

    Lol, But really, what's wrong with tht?
  7. TchnclFl

    TchnclFl New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    631
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Yup :). I figured it out, and then saw your thread :p. I was going to make one if you hadn't :).
  8. Buzzard267

    Buzzard267 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    729
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    lol, I am wondering the same!
  9. redban

    redban New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    No, I just thought it looked really good :D
  10. Buzzard267

    Buzzard267 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    729
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    lol, okay! :D

    Off Topic: Who voted pointless? (Just curious!)

Share This Page