how to add app after i restore

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by iOwnxD, Oct 30, 2009.

  1. iOwnxD

    iOwnxD New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    i'm going to restoring to 3.1.2 from 3.0 and was just wondering how i could get gpsphone off my ipod and put it back in after i restored. i have version 5.x, i got it when it was free in cydia. my parents won't let me use a credit card online so i can't buy the latest version =\. everytime i ssh a .app file into the applications folder it crashes immediately.. thanks for the help you guys
  2. ChrisL

    ChrisL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8,704
    Likes Received:
    159
    Well (assuming that you are jailbroken again), I think you will need to buy the new version, I'm not sure if 5.x is compatible with 3.1.2, I know there is a 6.x version now.
  3. iOwnxD

    iOwnxD New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    you sure that there isn't any way I could just out it into the applications folder and let it work? My parents won't let me use their credit cards online...
  4. ChrisL

    ChrisL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8,704
    Likes Received:
    159
    I'm not even sure if that's the reason. It's either:
    1) 5.x is not compatible with 3.1.2 or
    2) You can't just drag the app into the Applications folder
  5. iOwnxD

    iOwnxD New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    I haven't updated yet because I don't want to lose gpsphone, the only "fun" thing I have on my ipod....
    Thats where the app downloads, into the apps folder. I even checked the files it downloads and all of it is in the apps folder. Unless I have to configure something?
  6. ChrisL

    ChrisL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8,704
    Likes Received:
    159
    But you've tried to ssh it into your application folder?
  7. iOwnxD

    iOwnxD New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    I have a 1g and 2g, I tried to ssh gpsphone from my 1g to 2g but everytime I clicked the app it wouldn't work. It would crash immediately.
    edit: if it matters, I used ifunbox to ssh.
  8. ChrisL

    ChrisL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8,704
    Likes Received:
    159
    Hmm no, I just don't think it'll work like that. It has to be installed through Cydia.
  9. iOwnxD

    iOwnxD New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    i've heard of people ssh'ing apps all the time.
  10. iptlolage123

    iptlolage123 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    how do you do that

Share This Page