how much does readyboost help?

Discussion in 'Computing, Science, and Technology' started by Tman47, Sep 7, 2008.

  1. Tman47

    Tman47 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,883
    Likes Received:
    20
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    if you read my last thread i got a 250gb hard drive. i got it to work with vista and then of course that well known pop up asking if i wanted to make my system faster using windows readyboost.

    my question is does this actually speed up my computer? and by how much? how much memory should i devote to readyboost? (i can prolly add up to 150gb cuz i dont have that much stuff on it yet)
  2. simonrichards150

    simonrichards150 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,058
    Likes Received:
    94
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Chances are your drive isn't fast enough for readyboost anyway.

    But I find it doesn't help much anyway
  3. Totally 1337

    Totally 1337 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    Yeah your drive has to be HELLA CRAZY FAST.

    I dint think it helps that much. Its just like adding more RAM i think (but not 250Gb of it

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    )
  4. Tman47

    Tman47 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,883
    Likes Received:
    20
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    well what do you mean by fast? like usb 2.0 or something?
  5. simonrichards150

    simonrichards150 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,058
    Likes Received:
    94
    Device:
    iPod touch
    For a start.

    It has to have a certain data transfer speed for it to work with readyboost:

  6. Tman47

    Tman47 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,883
    Likes Received:
    20
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    yeah nvm my hd wont work

    but i have a 4gb sony thumbdrive that does. im gonna try and use that. cuz i dont need any data on that anymore since i got my new hd, cuz my old 120gb xhd needed an external power source and was much bigger so this is wayyy more portable
  7. *Soul~Of~iTouch*

    *Soul~Of~iTouch* New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
  8. Tman47

    Tman47 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,883
    Likes Received:
    20
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    both need to be 2.0
  9. *Soul~Of~iTouch*

    *Soul~Of~iTouch* New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Thanks a lot but how do I know if my device is of 2.0? How do I check?
  10. Tman47

    Tman47 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,883
    Likes Received:
    20
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    btw heres my old hd compared to my new one

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    Please Register or Log in to view images


    ------------------double post merged------------------
    well most devices now a days are 2.0, unless its <5 years old.

    and if your computers not 2.0 youll get a pop up when you plug something in asking for it to be plugged into 2.0

Share This Page