How do you use wifi that doesn't have a router or dns?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by raitono, Apr 7, 2008.

  1. raitono

    raitono New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am at a hotel that offers free wifi but when I join the network and tap the arrow next to it it has no router or DNS. And ofcourse this means that I cannot us the wifi. Is there anyway to make it so that I can use it?
  2. Elric

    Elric New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    961
    Likes Received:
    10
    are you paying for it? If so tell them it's not working and they'll give you that info.

    Do you have an IP address? Try opening a page, they will usually have a login window to put your code into.
  3. raitono

    raitono New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    no i am no paying for it. But yes it has the ip address and subnet mask fields filled out but not the router or dns areas. When i try to open a page it says it couldnot find the server.
  4. steeped

    steeped New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    718
    Likes Received:
    9
    Unless it's free wifi it's because you have to pay. Or, you have to use one of their computers because of the specified MAC address.
  5. yz85 rider

    yz85 rider Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    39
    Yeah that happened to me at all the airports in the last week. But certain wireless works.

Share This Page