How do you play files from i-pod through computer?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by supersezza, Nov 1, 2008.

1. supersezza

supersezza New Member

Sorry if this is an obvious question, I am new to i-pods after having creative zens for years.

My question is when my i-pod is connected to my laptop through the USB cable why can't I play audio files through itunes which are contained on my i-pod?

Ideally i'd like to be able to either click on the file in itunes and have it recognise my i-pod is a source or also be able to select things on my ipod and have it sync with itunes and play it through the computer, is this possible?

Anyone else think i-pods could be a bit more user friendly or is it just me? The simplest things seem to be really complicated, I am really surprised since they dominate the market so much, i have to say so far I am not 100% impressed.

Still any help would be greatly received,

Thanks,
    Sarah

Please Register or Log in to view images

2. Meikura

Meikura Super Moderator Staff Member

Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)

In iTunes, just click your iPod then click music. Simple.
  3. dodgy

dodgy Member

Device:
    iPhone 6 Plus
    I think you have to click on 'manage music manually' first, then you can just double click on the songs and they'll play. I think.
  4. pegaxs

pegaxs Banned

Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    I have owned Sansa media players in the past, and they were good and very easy to use. As for the iPod Touch being hard to use ? It does not get much easier then this does it ? Touch interface, nice big icons, easy to read, flip through music like flipping through record covers.. What is there not to like ?