How Do I Use Private Frameworks?

Discussion in 'iOS Development' started by artful_dodger74, Mar 23, 2010.

1. artful_dodger74

artful_dodger74 New Member

Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Ok so i am completely new to developing with private api's or anything remotely got to do with the iphone toolchain. I've been learning objective c for the past 9 months and have been mostly concentrating on "official" sdk means.

For the past 2 days I have been reading up on anything related to messing around with private frameworks but i cant seem to find a complete guide to get up and running. To be honest i think i've read myself around in circles looking at the toolchain and class dumping header files etc. Can anybody please point me in the right direction?

I'm a bit confused on where i should start. i.e. importing private frameworks and getting them to work in your xcode project.

I'm running snow leopard 10.6.2 and using a jailbroken iphone 3gs firmware 3.1.2 if that matters much.

Any help or a point in the right direction to a guide or tutorial would be much appreciated.
  2. Axis

Axis Super Moderator Staff Member

Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    to class-dump a binary:

Code:
    class-dump /path/to/binary -o /output/directory
    You can install class-dump on your Mac, or your iPhone, from Cydia.

You can easily "add" a private framework in XCode: right click in the left panel, select Add > Existing Framework > Add Other, and browse to <sdk_root>/System/Library/PrivateFrameworks/...>

A listing of all frameworks and their putative purpose/uses can be found here - http://theiphonewiki.com/wiki/index.php?title=Frameworks
  3. lauNchD

lauNchD Well-Known Member

Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    Aren't all private frameworks/libraries already in Xcode's list (when you open the Get Info panel on your target)?

EDIT: You'll still need to get the header files for most private frameworks.
  4. artful_dodger74

Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Thank for the reply.