how do i tell what firmware my ipod has on it?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by usofarsenal, Jun 11, 2009.

  1. usofarsenal

    usofarsenal New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    alright, here's the story.

    i tried to jailbreak my 2G 32gb touch and ran into problems once it had installed the firmware. Long story short when I first got it to jailbreak i was only getting purple, grey, and white screens. I got the springboard to load up a couple of times after screwing with it for hours. So, I tried to restore it using quickfreedom again. Once I installed the custom firmware the second time I haven't seen the springboard since. The computer will still recognize the iPod when I go through the steps to put it in dfu mode(even though all i get at this point is a white screen.) so, i used redsnow to put my ipod into dfu mode and then installed the official apple firmware(at least it went through the steps and information on my computer saying it had been restored to the official firmware.) since my ipod will not load up, and the only time itunes recognizes my ipod is when it's in restore mode...how do i tell what firmware is loaded on to the ipod. if it's the official firmware i plan on taking it into the apple store and playing dumb....any ideas?
  2. Coasterboi

    Coasterboi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    On your device, go to Settings -> General -> About -> then look where it says Version.
  3. usofarsenal

    usofarsenal New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    i'm not getting a springboard..or anything but a white screen for that matter.
  4. flyingguitar

    flyingguitar Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,860
    Likes Received:
    11
    Device:
    iPhone 6
    DFU restore.

    Shift+click restore to stock firmware
  5. usofarsenal

    usofarsenal New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    this is starting to remind me of the IT crowd, "have you tried turning it off and on"...

    i've tried shift+click restore...it's went through the restoration process several times on the computer, that's why i think it might have the real firmware, but i'm still not getting a real screen.
  6. Nburnes

    Nburnes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    9,022
    Likes Received:
    767
    Device:
    OnePlus One
    Your shift-click restoring to the correct firmware for your device right?

    ipod touch 1g= iPod1,1_2.2.1_5H11_Restore.ipsw

    ipod touch 2g=iPod2,1_2.2.1_5H11a_Restore.ipsw
  7. usofarsenal

    usofarsenal New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah, i've done that. i've downloaded the newest firmware and everything.

    it seems that it's getting worse. when it tries to put the firmware onto the ipod it tries a few times then it says "waiting for ipod"

Share This Page