How do I connect itouch to my home wireless network?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by DZADZY, Dec 30, 2008.

  1. DZADZY

    DZADZY New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello, I am not too computer smart, but I can't connect my grandaughters itouch to my home wireless network. I have att landline to a 2wire router. My laptop works fine. I don't remember any passwords from att when I first hooked up 2 years ago. The itouch works fine at the Apple store and she goes on youtube or something. Any suggestion will be appreciated. If I only knew the proper steps to follow. Please, polite answers only. Some sites are rude just because they know how to work all the gadgets.

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  2. milkman

    milkman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    whats the problem? can you see the wireless network?
  3. murphmanny

    murphmanny Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,250
    Likes Received:
    3
    Well, your first step is to retrieve that password that you lost from 2 years ago.

    Next go to Settings > Network > WiFi > and click the network that your computers are on.

    It will ask for a password, and this is where you put your soon-to-be-retrieved-password there.

    To get your password back, try called AT&T, and say that you lost it.
    But you need that password back.
  4. DZADZY

    DZADZY New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    It says unable to connect to network and or wrong password. My laptop shows I am connected to 2WIRE257
  5. murphmanny

    murphmanny Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,250
    Likes Received:
    3
    Well, like I said, you need to find out your password. That's your first step.
  6. NickPod

    NickPod Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    840
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    Did you retrieve the password and try it?
  7. milkman

    milkman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    find the model of your router and then google how to setup (insert model#) your should find an ip adress like this 198.162.1.1 then go to wireless settings change password, after that you will have to change the passwords on all devices curently connected to that network
  8. eberglar

    eberglar New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Like manram 24 said, you need to find your password. Without it you'll be stuck unless you want to reset your router to factory settings. However, that will open up another can of worms.
  9. DZADZY

    DZADZY New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you all for your help. The retrieval of the lost password makes sense. I will probably be tied up with att, but its my own fault. Thanks again.
  10. murphmanny

    murphmanny Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,250
    Likes Received:
    3

    You still need the original password to change the password. That's why he should call AT&T, and retrieve his password.

Share This Page