how do i back up apps onto my computer?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by chinchillion, Jan 26, 2008.

  1. chinchillion

    chinchillion New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    (sorry mods if this is in the wrong section, IDK where to put it...)
    I have over 120 apps on my ipod and they took forever to upload.
    So I know that there's a way to put them on the computer so that you can download them again, but I'm not sure exactly how to do this.
    I went into cute ftp and right now it's copying the entire "media" folder from my ipod onto the computer....
    the folder is like 510 bytes and I'm not sure of the conversion to GB but it's loaded 1.3 GB's and it's been an hour and a half
    my ipod is heating up and I'm trying to keep it cool but yeah

    I'm not sure if this will work or not, so if you know how to do it or if there's a video I can't find then please send a link!!

    Thanks,
    Alex
  2. ben471

    ben471 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    2
    Your apps are not in var/root/Media. They are in /Applications

    and yes you can just copy them to your computer using cuteftp
  3. sKin

    sKin New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Not if you used Boss Tools

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  4. chinchillion

    chinchillion New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah I have boss tool,
    so where are they?
  5. ben471

    ben471 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    2
    o really? My bad I never used boss tools. I moved my apps the old fashioned way with commands.

    If boss tools puts them in the /Media directory then you are doing the right thing.
    edit:
    Search around for 120 folders that end in .app
  6. chinchillion

    chinchillion New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    So if i were to save the entire media folder to my computer,
    When I go to upload the stuff back onto my ipod, do i delete the media folder from my ipod and then just put the one from my desk top in??

    I just don't wanna screw anything up

    Please Register or Log in to view images




    thanks!
  7. chinchillion

    chinchillion New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    anyody?
    ifi used bosstool, do I just copy the media file onto my computer and then delete the one from my ipod and take the one from my computer and put it back on?(after upgrading to 1.1.3)

Share This Page