How can i tell my Touch is 3rd Gen

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by bunraku, Nov 7, 2009.

  1. bunraku

    bunraku New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi

    Just got a Touch of EBAY sold as 3rd Gen. However a battery app i downloaded says i have a 2nd Gen.

    I hope the app just doesn't know the difference between 2nd and 3rd Gen Touch's or i've been conned.

    Is there a way i can check?

    Thanx
  2. _JKK_

    _JKK_ Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9,514
    Likes Received:
    1,366
    Device:
    iPhone 5S
    Give me your model #.

    Also, how much space does it have (gigabytes, or GB)?
  3. LssThanThree

    LssThanThree Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,943
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    Enter the serial number on Apple's website.
  4. ryanangus

    ryanangus Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,609
    Likes Received:
    0
    Go to settings > general > about.

    Check your model number. If it says MBxxxx it's a 2G. If it says MCxxxx It's a 3G. However, if it's an 8GB model it's still a 2G either way

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  5. bunraku

    bunraku New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi

    32GB and Model is MC008BT.

    Thanx
  6. _JKK_

    _JKK_ Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9,514
    Likes Received:
    1,366
    Device:
    iPhone 5S
    3G.

    The battery app doesn't know the difference (it hasn't been updated). I believe that my battery app says the same.
  7. ryanangus

    ryanangus Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,609
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does anyone know why the last two digits differ? Mine's MC008ZP
  8. ChrisL

    ChrisL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8,704
    Likes Received:
    159
    Mine is MC011C, I don't think anything after 'MC' matters, to us at least. But maybe it represents what country/region it's for, I don't know

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  9. ryanangus

    ryanangus Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,609
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think that's it, a google search of my model number comes up with Aus/NZ results...

    And if I'm not mistaken your iPod is from Canada?

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  10. ChrisL

    ChrisL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8,704
    Likes Received:
    159
    Yep lol, that's why I connected it to the country/region

    Please Register or Log in to view images


    C for Canada! haha

Share This Page