How and What: iTouch Apps?

Discussion in 'iOS Development' started by dereklarue, Dec 27, 2007.

1. dereklarue

dereklarue New Member

Im new at this ipod touch development, i need help. So What do i need?

Please Register or Log in to view images

I want to make Apps for the itouch. I basically dont know anything about this. But i want to learn. Please help!

1.) What programs do i need, and can i get a link to download them?

2.) Whats Objective-C ? I know a bit of C++...are they the same? Were to learn?

3.) Anything else to know?

Thanks for your help -

derek

2. zisko

zisko Member

Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    same here man. I searched everwhere! Cmon!
  3. PhoisGOOD

PhoisGOOD New Member

ya yea cant find the thing at all
  4. zacaj

zacaj New Member

Device:
    iPod touch
    1. You'll need the toolchain. For windows, google winChain, and install it.
    2. OBJ-c is a mix of C++ and another language, its close enough that if you know C++ you can understand it
    3. Lots
  5. SkylarEC

SkylarEC Super Moderator Emeritus Staff Member

Objective-C is NOT "a mix of C++ and another language." Objective-C is a superset of C, just like C++ is. They are both parallel supersets, and they both have strengths and weaknesses. Objective-C is much more Object Oriented then C++, yet its classes can't inherit from multiple other classes. Tradeoffs, I suppose.

The part about knowing one and understanding the other is true. The same basic structure is the same, as they are both based on the C language. It's just a matter of learning the appropriate syntax for each language.

If you do want to incorporate C++ with Objective-C, then you can learn to program using Objective-C++, which is also known to work on the iPod Touch (as does C++ (Sand.app)), but the general belief of the dev community is that it is better to program in the language the iPhone/iPod is designed best to interpret.

Good luck, and happy devving.
  6. HoboJoe4Eva

HoboJoe4Eva New Member