Samsung Home Button Not Working

Discussion in 'Android Chat' started by Pandawg, Dec 26, 2012.

  1. Pandawg

    Pandawg Community Development

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,759
    Likes Received:
    817

    I'll try this later, thanks

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    These will work for any device right?
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2012
  2. Xerox

    Xerox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    7,365
    Likes Received:
    1,681
    Device:
    iPhone 6 Plus
    Yeah, they just contain the main Google Apps that are DPI changeable, so that they work with any device.
  3. Pandawg

    Pandawg Community Development

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,759
    Likes Received:
    817
    Okay, just wanted to make sure

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    Xerox likes this.
  4. [AFX]

    [AFX] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,246
    Likes Received:
    134

    Why clear the cache so many times? Should only have to do it once.
  5. Xerox

    Xerox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    7,365
    Likes Received:
    1,681
    Device:
    iPhone 6 Plus
    On my phone, I had (and sometimes still have) the same problem, and the ONLY way I could get it to work is following those exact steps. If I didn't wipe cache and dalvik, it wouldn't work!
  6. Pandawg

    Pandawg Community Development

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,759
    Likes Received:
    817
    @Xerox - tried the instructions you posted and it still won't work

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  7. Xerox

    Xerox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    7,365
    Likes Received:
    1,681
    Device:
    iPhone 6 Plus
    Hmmm.....

    So it works FINE on the stock ROM, but as soon as you install a custom ROM, it starts to go funky... Try this

    1. Backup ROM
    2. Wipe Data
    3. Wipe System
    4. Wipe Cache
    5. Install ROM
    6. Reboot
    Does the button work now? If not, it may be a ROM fault. Install that kernel again. Does it work now?
    If it does, then try this.

    1. Backup ROM
    2. Wipe Data
    3. Wipe System
    4. Wipe Cache
    5. Wipe Dalvik
    6. Flash ROM
    7. Fix Permissions
    8. Wipe Cache and Dalvik
    9. Flash Google Apps
    10. Reboot see if button is working if not
    11. Reboot to Recovery
    12. Wipe Cache and Dalvik (it would have been built in the reboot)
    13. Flash Google Apps
    14. Fix Permissions
    This is another way I got mine to work, but it only worked twice... Unlike the other, that always works.
  8. Pandawg

    Pandawg Community Development

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,759
    Likes Received:
    817

    It won't work unless I have that kernel installed x.x

    I even tried flashing different ROMs and still have the problem.
  9. Xerox

    Xerox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    7,365
    Likes Received:
    1,681
    Device:
    iPhone 6 Plus
    Must be something to do with your phone. I guess you could take it in to the carrier store (restore it to stock) and say "My home button is selective when I press it, sometimes it will work, and sometimes it won't." They should give you a new one.
  10. Pandawg

    Pandawg Community Development

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,759
    Likes Received:
    817
    Looks like it. :/

    This is the kernel I have to use. I wouldn't really mind using that kernel, but the battery life is meh

    Please Register or Log in to view images

Share This Page