Home button issue

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by vbman213, Apr 9, 2010.

  1. vbman213

    vbman213 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    So yesterday I accidentally dropped my ipod touch 3g. The only exterior damage was to my incase slider. My iPod has no visible damage. I have both an incase slider and a screen protector.

    Now honestly, I think I've been having weird issues with my home button since I upgraded to 3.1.3. Sometimes I will click it once, and it would register a double and launch music and sometimes I have to press the home button twice to awake it. Sometimes...

    It isn't all the time. Is this a bug? Anybody else had problems like this?
  2. studangerous

    studangerous Super Moderator Emeritus Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,975
    Likes Received:
    30
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Could be to do with your jailbreak... often jailbreaks can slow down response times especially if you have a lot of hacks and hooks running.
  3. BigD

    BigD New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    interesting did u restart it resently??? if so you may try to restore.
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    u studangerous if he has 3.1.3 how can he be jailbroken
  4. vbman213

    vbman213 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    I'm not jailbroken and yes I've restarted recently.

    The weird thing is that besides the sleep issues, my ipod recognizes every click of the home button in some way. So it isn't a connection issue internally.
  5. studangerous

    studangerous Super Moderator Emeritus Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,975
    Likes Received:
    30
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    my mistake... I thought I saw 'jailbroken' in his profile... TGIF!
  6. vbman213

    vbman213 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    I was in the process of changing it right after I posted. lol

    So any ideas concerning my problem? My device is still usable, I'm just a little paranoid.

    Well I just got into DFU mode without any problems. A faulty home button would have made this process "hit and miss". This has got to be a software problem... Any thoughts?
  7. magic8ball88

    magic8ball88 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,123
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    I know this isn't much help but my friend seems to be having a similar problem with his 3G. He has the same problems as you but with a few additional, such as the inability to do a hard reboot (takes multiple screen shots) and sometimes it even launches the negative feature. Is this a problem with all 3G iPod's? He was going to call apple (after restoring of course) but maybe a DFU restore would help?

    Not to be a thread hijacker

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  8. ipodsweety

    ipodsweety New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    you should try restarting it time to time. you hold down the off button and shut it down so it will refresh it so there wont be any problems. small chance its a bug.
  9. vbman213

    vbman213 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    I just did a DFU restore. I have yet to experience any of the problems I described in the original post. I will continue to play around with it through the day and keep this thread updated.

    Scratch that... It just launched Music on a single click. So once every 30 minutes? Weird
  10. shashanknegi

    shashanknegi Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,778
    Likes Received:
    11
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    yes i also have the same problem, sometimes the itunes password sign in will pop up too

Share This Page