Holding Down Home in 3.0 b2

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 3.0' started by Spartigus, Apr 13, 2009.

  1. Spartigus

    Spartigus New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Hi
    One thing i did notice in 3.0, was holding down the home button didn't force apps to close. If you remember to all the previous versions (pre 3.0), if you wanted to force an app to close, or terminate all process associated with that app, you would hold down the home button for like 5 seconds and it will force it to shut. Like in the music app, if you force closed it while playing music the music also stopped, whereas if you just pressed the home button, the music player ran in the background and continued to play music (Im making reference to the default music player).

    It seems in 3.0, they have taken this out? If you hold down home it now does nothing.

    Is anyone else finding this?

    Does this mean apps now do the force close when you just press it? Apart from stuff like music app and mail and that sort of thing.
  2. pody08

    pody08 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    i found this also
  3. ZhiZhi778

    ZhiZhi778 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    936
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    that's somehow weird cuz in the previous versions it was the springboard who killed the apps when held homebutton for more than 6seconds while an app i in the foreground

    why should they remove that feature? hm..
  4. SiN Altr Ego EL

    SiN Altr Ego EL New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    905
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPad w/ 3G
    a lot of people really didn't know about the killswitch for apps... usually, people will just let those apps (music and mail and safari) run in the background and they wouldn't even know it... so.. maybe apple figures that since the average, non-jailbroken, non-tech-savy, just-uses-the-ipod-for-music person doesn't really know about that... they took it out.... but thats kinda dumb that they did... oh well... thank goodness for SBsettings... XP
  5. willdacracka

    willdacracka Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    834
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone
    Wrong use of the word killswitch.
  6. Ryan

    Ryan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,129
    Likes Received:
    28
    Device:
    Nexus 4
    i also can confirm this
  7. Bubalooshi

    Bubalooshi Active Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Possibly this has to do something with Apple attempting to stop background processes when jailbroken?
  8. dualBang

    dualBang New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    It is a beta.....
  9. cameleon1267

    cameleon1267 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    I noticed that too from the 1st beta. It could also explain the drastic increase of battery life on 3.0
  10. leadergo

    leadergo Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,384
    Likes Received:
    6
    i dont know why they removed it. i tried killing Safari once in B1 with the 5 seconds on home. who knows, they maybe just removed it just in the beta.

Share This Page