Help?

Discussion in 'Pwnage and Winpwn Discussions' started by Blaze_Blaster, May 10, 2008.

  1. Blaze_Blaster

    Blaze_Blaster Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPod touch
    hey just wondering if i was to pwn my ipot could i first make an iBackup of it, deleting summerboard and customize, and then restore to 1.1.4, pwn it, then restore the backup? allowing my ipod to be the same as before except with a different boot logo?
  2. JonnySK

    JonnySK Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,767
    Likes Received:
    5
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    erm i don't think so, the boot logos are creating INTO the firmware, so you cannot change them (As far as i know, correct me if im wrong)

    hope this helps
  3. Blaze_Blaster

    Blaze_Blaster Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPod touch
    So If I make a backup then restore+pwn i can't use the backup?
  4. ddgv

    ddgv Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,818
    Likes Received:
    39
    im not 100% sure but maybe if the backup its taken out by SSH and then brought back into the ipod after the pwnage .... but im not sure if it will work
  5. JonnySK

    JonnySK Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,767
    Likes Received:
    5
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    ok, im kinda confused lol but thats just me, ill explain-

    If you restore a pwned iPod Touch, it will effectively be un-pwned right? but if you pwn it again, you can restore with ANY custom firmware (meaning that if you backed up your FIRST custom firmware, you can reload it onto a PWNED ipod touch

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    )

    the only way to alter boot logos is to make a BRAND NEW IPSW with different boot logos on it...

    hope this makes sense lol
  6. Blaze_Blaster

    Blaze_Blaster Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPod touch
    but im not backing up my firmware with winpwn, im using ibackup.

    here let's review
    1. i have my working ipod with a backup using ibackup
    2. i restore to regular 1.1.4
    3. i pwn
    4. i make custom firmware
    5. i restore to custom firmware
    6. i apply my backup from ibackup for the apps
  7. JonnySK

    JonnySK Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,767
    Likes Received:
    5
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    yes that should work fine
    1 person likes this.
  8. Blaze_Blaster

    Blaze_Blaster Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Phew. now i can have a ipod touch unique to me. whoooooo finally

    Ok Edit Do you know how i get rid of error 1604?

Share This Page