help with wifi

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by biscuits1987, Nov 21, 2008.

  1. biscuits1987

    biscuits1987 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi there - first post so hello!

    Recently bought a touch but cant seem to get on the internet with it. My touch has got my network name under settings - wi-fi and choose a network. My broadband name is there with a full strength signal but when i try and connect through safari it just says "cannot open page".

    Not sure if i maybe need to tell my router to allow me to connect with my touch? If this is the case how do I do it? My router is an EchoLife HG520.

    Thanks for any ideas.
  2. Joe Rossignol

    Joe Rossignol Community Manager Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,500
    Likes Received:
    1,268
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    Hey, welcome to iPod touch Fans!

    Are you actually tapping on your network's name under choose a network? It will show you a check mark once it connects to the network. Then you can go to Safari and begin browsing like normal.

    Also, you can access your router's "control panel" through your internet browser. In your address bar, type in http://192.168.1.1.
  3. biscuits1987

    biscuits1987 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Got my checkmark beside my network name.

    Called apple who told me to call Talk Talk. Called Talk Talk who told me to call Apple!!

    Help please!
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    When i check my settings on my touch this is what I see:

    IP Address 169.254.43.158
    Subnet Mask 255.255.0.0
    Router
    DNS
    Search Domains
    Clinet ID

Share This Page