Help with Photoshop...

Discussion in 'Graphics, Design, and Photography' started by kurtisboyd, Aug 16, 2008.

  1. kurtisboyd

    kurtisboyd Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Messages:
    610
    Likes Received:
    7
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Well, I'm pretty much a Photoshop N00b.

    I was wondering, when I look on say, Google images for some pictures to paste into Photoshop, I'll find one with a transparent background (no white square around it, ect) and when I paste it into PS, a black background appears behind it, instead of it being transparent.

    What can I do to stop this happening?
  2. River

    River New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    0
    Common problem... easy fix:

    1. When you're done with all the edits you're gonna do, FLATTEN the image.
    2. Select the "Background Eraser" and blot out all the items you want to mask out.
    3. Save AS IS in GIF format.

    Now if you do a copy and get that background error - make sure the image is not layered. Change it to RGB.

    Let me know if you 2 need anymore help.
  3. kurtisboyd

    kurtisboyd Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Messages:
    610
    Likes Received:
    7
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    So this will work for images I copy off the net and then paste into photoshop?
  4. River

    River New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yup. As long as after you paste the element, you convert it to RGB, you should be okie dokie.
  5. kurtisboyd

    kurtisboyd Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Messages:
    610
    Likes Received:
    7
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Cool, and do you know where I can get images that won't have this problem?
  6. JoshuaCaputo

    JoshuaCaputo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Image -> mode -> rgbcolor
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    I think .gif files all are saved this way.
  7. River

    River New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    0
    Most elements change when they are moved from one location to another. (eg; from a local machine to a remote / vice versa.) It's pretty much the luck of the draw. You'll do it so often, you won't even know you're checking its properties.
  8. Mr.MeToo

    Mr.MeToo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    I didn't read the whole thread but there is the most easy soloution to that problem.

    Just right click the image that you used to copy, and save it to your desktop.
    Now open PS and go to "file" the "place". Now you have that image, with NO black line around it.
    That usually happens when you try to copy and paste a .png file.
    Anyway. Now you have that transparent image without a black line inside PS as a "smart object". If you don't want it to be a smart object, rightclick the layer and select "resize" or seomething like that. And your set

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    Hope that helped.

Share This Page