Help With my installer mod!

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by mce0004, Jul 8, 2008.

  1. mce0004

    mce0004 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Well basically i was sick of the featured screen in installer so i decided to fix it up with links and new apps etc. It sorta looks like the appstore, anyway. I made all the images and linked them up and uploaded the html file with all pics (half done) and stuff but now i ran into a problem. I dont know how to change the featured screen's url from http://www.apptapp.com/featured/index.html to my url????
    can anyone please help me!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    my url is http://tvonline.net46.net/featured/index.html
    I also added a screenshot it you want to see.

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    Attached Files:

  2. Totally 1337

    Totally 1337 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    wow dude. that looks pretty sweet! sorry i cant help you though

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  3. mce0004

    mce0004 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Thank you!

    Thanks
  4. Joko

    Joko New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow dude that looks good actually. Does it really work? And how does it work? By using safari I guess.
  5. mce0004

    mce0004 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Thank you
    It works the same way the featured screen does in installer at the moment. (i think its using safari, i dont know) I just replaced image and added more stuff and moved them around etc.
  6. nadnerb33

    nadnerb33 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    I think you're out of luck as the URL is most likely hardcoded into the installer binary.
    Also the URL you posted has been removed.
  7. optimo

    optimo New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    17
    the only possible way would be a per-router setting to forward requests for their site to point instead to your own server.

    good luck with that, pretty useless without help from the authors
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    the only possible way would be a per-router setting to forward requests for their site to point instead to your own server.

    good luck with that, pretty useless without help from the authors. you should contact them and show them your design, which is quite inspired.

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  8. The Ax

    The Ax Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    22
    loooks f***ing killer.

    dont know that code

    maybe pull and f3 or ctr+f on the installer code for "index.htm"?
  9. mce0004

    mce0004 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    i found the url in the "installer" file in installer.app and changed the url but it doesnt run. It just crashes.
    How would i get in touch with them????
    apptapp? nullriver??
  10. PAEz

    PAEz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    10
    first up I could'nt find....
    http://www.apptapp.com/featured/index.html
    ....only.....
    http://www.apptapp.com/featured/
    ...so maybe we got different versions?

    But, I was able to change the url and not have installer crash when I ran it. Unfortunately my iTouch aint connecting with the net at the mo (bloody windoze) so I cant say for sure if it would have got the page (but im pretty sure it would have).
    Yours might not have worked because the url you are changing it too is longer than the original one. When you change strings in an executeable allways make the new string the same or less amount of characters and the last character is almost allways 00 in hex (not text, the 00 qute often signifies the end of a string in code).
    So if you changed your url too....
    http://tvonline.net46.net/f/
    ...you could get it to fit and it might work....or you could try writting over the http:// and see if it defaults to that anyway.
    good luck, id love to have a different page that annouced whats new, not just whats been hot for the last 6 months

    Please Register or Log in to view images

Share This Page