Help with Mocha VNC

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 2.X' started by runningpop, Jul 31, 2008.

  1. runningpop

    runningpop New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm running mac and I used Vine Server (http://sourceforge.net/projects/osxvnc/) to make a VNC server and I only managed to connect to my computer inside my own network using my ip 192.168.0.100. But when I try to do an external connection using my computers ip address (whatsmyipaddress.com) it doesn't work. Anyone manage to connect externally?
  2. tripacer

    tripacer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    I believe you need to set up your port fowarding configurations for your router.
  3. runningpop

    runningpop New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    I knew that was coming. All I have to do is type 192.168.0.100 in my address bar and enter my router username and password and i can do it there?
  4. tripacer

    tripacer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    yep, that's how it goes.
  5. runningpop

    runningpop New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    what exactly do i do there?

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  6. tripacer

    tripacer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    well depending on your router, there should be an "advanced" or "settings" tab you can click that should give you an option to change your port forwarding configurations.

    For example, this is what my VNC configuration looks like for my D-Link router:

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  7. rickatnight11

    rickatnight11 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    8
    www.portforward.com will probably have instructions for your router. You just need to forward the port you are using to the local IP address of the computer on your network running the server. Then when you connect to your external IP your router will forward all data along that port right along to that local machine.

Share This Page