Help with MacBook

Discussion in 'Mac & OS X' started by Nordini, Feb 24, 2008.

  1. Nordini

    Nordini Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    ok so i just got my Macbook the ohter day and right when i got it, i found that a game that i play very often only operates on Windows. So with Leopard's new technology they have this program called Boot Camp that allows me to dual boot windows on my Macbook. so naturally i try installing windows. After i fully install Windows XP with this program i find out that its not the right version. Its only the Service Pack 1 version while Boot Camp requires the Service Pack 2 edition. I find this out after i set Windows XP to my default start up disk so i end up having to reinstall Leopard.

    anyways, is there anyway i can uninstall the version of Windows XP i put on my Macbook so it doesnt waste space? Also since i installed Leopard twice is it using up twice the amount of space?
  2. ur_so_beautiful

    ur_so_beautiful New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    Messages:
    984
    Likes Received:
    16
    if you install a new software (XP instead of Linux) then the XP should override the Linux, saving space.
    i'd re-install Linux using the disc it should've come with.
  3. spoonforknife

    spoonforknife Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,896
    Likes Received:
    317
    HE is talking about MAC OS X, not Linux.
    Yeah, the Boot Camp manager (in Utilities), you can probably remove the partition from there.
  4. ur_so_beautiful

    ur_so_beautiful New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    Messages:
    984
    Likes Received:
    16
    missread leopard for linux sorry
  5. wearmaize

    wearmaize Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,442
    Likes Received:
    13
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    How do you do that? Well trained eyes, I guess....
  6. ur_so_beautiful

    ur_so_beautiful New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    Messages:
    984
    Likes Received:
    16
    lol i must've intwined Leopard and XP to make Linux, i dunno i was reading quicker than my eyes could take

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  7. wearmaize

    wearmaize Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,442
    Likes Received:
    13
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
  8. teehee

    teehee New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone
    Like he said.

    And I dont think you have to copies of leopard on your mac if you installed it on the same partition as it was before. Also for next time if this happens, all you have to do is restart the computer and hold down the option/alt key. That will allow you to select which operating system you want to use.

Share This Page