Help! Unkonwn Error (6) By Installing

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 2.X Jailbreak' started by superglut2, Jul 30, 2008.

  1. superglut2

    superglut2 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Help!
    I did everything it says on the tutorial.
    First i downloaded WinPwn.
    Then Downloadeded iPod1,1_2.0_5A347_Restore
    Then i did Browse .ipsw
    then IPSW Builder.
    Then Ipower and get a pop up which says Itunes has been pwned. You can now restore your ipsw using DFU Mode.
    Then i went into DFU Mode.
    ( got itunes version 7.7)
    and selected the custom firmware.
    after a few seconds i get an error saying Unkown Error ( 6 )
    I tried installing just the firmware 2.0 ( not the custom one ) and it worked..
    so help please!
  2. jfb392

    jfb392 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,512
    Likes Received:
    21
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Error 6 is a restore mode error.
    DFU mode =/= restore mode.
    You need to be in DFU mode to restore to a custom firmware from a stock firmware.
    Turn your device off, plug it in to your computer, hold both the home and power button for 10 seconds, then release the power button and hold home until you hear a USB chime from your computer.
    There will be nothing on the screen.
  3. superglut2

    superglut2 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    it says Ipod was found in DFU Mode, and i got the Itunes Icons on my Ipod..
  4. jfb392

    jfb392 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,512
    Likes Received:
    21
    Device:
    iPod touch
    No, it says an iPod was found in restore mode.
    Error 6 is not a DFU error and it never has been.
    If you were really in DFU mode and were to receive errors, they would be 160x errors.
  5. superglut2

    superglut2 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    any easier way i can get it into DFU mode?
  6. jfb392

    jfb392 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,512
    Likes Received:
    21
    Device:
    iPod touch
    No, not anymore.
    If you're currently on 2.0, your device is seen differently by your computer, so none of the programs that used to be able to put it into DFU can.
    Also, I'm not sure how they did it, but it was probably using an unsigned ramdisk, which no longer works.
    If you can't understand my directions, follow these.
  7. AppleDude

    AppleDude Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,465
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (White)
    No I would say iLiberty+ but your on 2.0 firmware so it won't work, sorry.
  8. superglut2

    superglut2 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Now i have the problem that the restore mode comes like every 5 secs already. should i restore again and then try again or can i still try even if the restore mode comes that early?
  9. jfb392

    jfb392 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,512
    Likes Received:
    21
    Device:
    iPod touch
    You must be timing it wrong, and make sure not to let go of either of the buttons until noted.
  10. superglut2

    superglut2 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got it into DFU mode, now it says like thats tis getting ready to restore since over 5 minutes.. and the window closes and opens again..
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    it worked! thanks

    Please Register or Log in to view images

Share This Page