Help the newbie :)

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by ilky, Aug 10, 2008.

1. ilky

ilky New Member

Hello there...I have just found out about that forum and I have a couple of questions. For starters, I own my iPod Touch (8gigs) for over 10-11 months, but i have never tried to modify it. I was afraid of it getting bricked or something. Now I decided to do that "jailbreak". So I have a couple of questions. They may be asked many times before, but lets hope I wont be a "intruder" and at least some of them be answered, if someone find time to do it

Please Register or Log in to view images

Just want to add that I am a compleate noob and don`t know nothing about that procedure

So here we go :
    1. Does it worth it to "jailbreak" your iPod ?! I mean, what will I get when Jailbreak it ?! Because I just want games and cool stuff to amaze my friends and when I get bored in the bus, to play with it (other apps, like dictionaries and some kind of cheating devises

for school would be useful too) . I want things/apps that I will enjoy in my free time. Will I have that if my iPod is Jailbroken ?

2. Is there some risk of total brick, so that my iPod stop working at all and it isn`t able to be fixed. And lets say I made the whole process correct - is there a chance some bugs and errors to appear ?! I meant with the common things (watching Videos, Photos, with the Music, or even Youtube). Will I be able to fully restore it if I mess up?
    3. If we accept that I am jailbreaking my Touch, which version is the best choice to use? And will I have to update the iPod, for example on 2.0.0 to jailbreak it with "iPod touch Firmware 2.0" ?! Just for info - I am with 1.1.4 version atm.
    4. Will I need to downgrade or format the device when jailbreaking?
    5. Will I be able to manually add apps on the iPod ?! And, I know this will sound a little "epic phail" and Im sorry for that, but where I can dl some, coz I really cant afford to buy