Help PLease!

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by MoNoXId3, Aug 16, 2008.

  1. MoNoXId3

    MoNoXId3 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok I put my ipod in DFU mode i think, but it says its in recovery mode on itunes, I try to restore the firmware and it gives me an error what do i do?

    edit: now its stuck at preparing ipod for restore what do I do?

    ok nevermind it gives me an error 1601?
  2. ubunix

    ubunix Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    1. itunes reads dfu as recovery thats fine
    2. Your ipod screen should be black
    3. And your computer should say dfu
    4. But shift click on a fresh firmware thats not PWN'D
  3. MoNoXId3

    MoNoXId3 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did, the same error occured

    now itunes won't recongize it
  4. ubunix

    ubunix Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    are you 100% possitve its in dfu mode
  5. MoNoXId3

    MoNoXId3 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    well its a black screen and it wont turn on if I click the sleep button

    edit: oh thank god I almost had a heart attack, I reset my ipod and now it works
  6. jpga13

    jpga13 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    11,591
    Likes Received:
    435
    Device:
    iPad 3
    What are you trying to install?
  7. MoNoXId3

    MoNoXId3 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    reaad my above post^

    but I was trying to install a custom firmware

    was I in DFU mode?

    because all I did was reset it and it went back to normal
  8. ubunix

    ubunix Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    that error means it is recovery mode. dfu has to be exact.
  9. jpga13

    jpga13 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    11,591
    Likes Received:
    435
    Device:
    iPad 3
    You don't need to be in DFU mode to install it for starters. Has your ipod been pwnd already?
  10. MoNoXId3

    MoNoXId3 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    how can you tell the difference between recovery and dfu mode?

    I followed a tutorial I thought it worked

    and no I never pwned my ipod before, I was trying to install custom firmware

    maybe someone can show me how to on msn or something?

    I am on a mac btw

    so wait, if I want to install this pwned firmware I don't have to be in dfu mode?

Share This Page