Help Needed

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by stoked21, Apr 12, 2009.

  1. stoked21

    stoked21 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi All, In a bit of a jam with my ipod and could really do with some help.

    Have only had it about 3 months, 2nd gen 32gb touch.

    Yesterday Itunes said there was a new version available, so I decided to update. Rather than just doing itunes it started updating the ipod itself.

    Now I cant get the ipod to swith on and when I plug it into my laptop it does not recognise the drivers. Have tried to update drivers but it says that the device has the best drivers in place.

    Cant find where to download drivers on apple. Have reinstalled itunes but still no joy.

    All help appreciated
  2. Modified

    Modified Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Sounds like the iPod is now unrecognizable. I would try to put it into DFU Mode and then just restore to the Original Firmware.
  3. stoked21

    stoked21 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    What is DFU mode and how do I do that? The ipod does not turn on at all, even if i use the wall charger its just dead.

    If I can get it into DFU how do i restore the original firmware?

    Sorry I am not the most technically gifted person!
  4. studangerous

    studangerous Super Moderator Emeritus Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,975
    Likes Received:
    30
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
  5. stoked21

    stoked21 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Still no joy, ipod shows no sign of life at all, think its dead!
  6. zander951

    zander951 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Was it jailbroken? Its hard somtimes to put it into dfu mode. Try restarting your computer or using a different usb port. I always have to unplug my chord and put it back in for my computer to reconize it in dfu.

Share This Page